Was I dying or was it all in my head?

in #story7 years ago

A few years ago I seemed to have some mysterious illness, well at least it felt like an illness. There were no major life threatening symptoms but I just had an overall general feeling of being unwell. 

Some of my symptoms were as follows:

  • Tired all the time, even when getting 8+ hours of sleep at night
  • Body aches, specifically in joints
  • Loss of strength (it was measurable because I used to lift weights frequently and I could not lift the same weight I had been lifting previously)
  • Hair shedding
  • Getting fatigued very easily when performing every day tasks
  • Strange eye problems where they seemed to be dry and bloodshot all the time

As you can see it was a decent sized list of non specific symptoms and they all just kind of came on gradually. Nothing seemed to happen overnight, it just seemed like over time I would notice a few more things that I hadn't notice before symptom wise, and they seemed to be gradually getting worse. 

This all doesn't seem like that big of a deal but I was only 26 years old at the time and had been a top notch athlete my entire life and in peak physical condition up to that point. So, something was definitely going on... but what?

As you can imagine, the first thing I did was go to a doctor. 

The doctor did all the usual tests. He ordered a complete blood panel, tested for different viruses, tested for all kinds of arthritis's, and even tested for different cancers. Much to my surprise everything came back normal, and not just mostly normal, but literally in every test my results were smack dab in the middle of the "normal range".

This was both a relief and a frustration. It was a relief that I didn't have some kind of disease or cancer, but it was a frustration because that didn't provide any answers to why I was feeling the way I was. 

What next?

Not really knowing what to do next I asked the doctor to refer me to an endocrinologist to see if maybe there was something going on with my hormones or my thyroid. After seeing an endocrinologist and having him perform a battery of tests I was still no closer to an answer. Every test he performed came back "normal" as well. 

His response, was something along the lines of, "you are a young man, maybe you just worry too much."

That was not really what I wanted to hear because I knew that it wasn't just all in my head. I wasn't just "worrying". I could physically feel pain in my knees and ankles and I would physically be out of breath when I walked up the stairs. Both unusual things considering the kind of physical shape I had been in previously.

Back to the drawing board.

Next I went back to my original doctor and told him the results from the endocrinologist and he decided we better test for some more obscure things. Things like lime disease, valley fever, or basically just any kind of virus that we could think of that we hadn't tested for yet. All came back normal. 

On to the next doctor.

He then sent me to a rheumatologist since most of my major symptoms seemed to be musculoskeletal in nature. 

The rheumatologist tested for all different kinds of arthritis's but came up empty yet again. Every test showed me smack dab in the middle of the normal range. He even did an x-ray of my knees, lower back, and ankles to see if there was anything we could see there that we might be missing. 

When the results came in, he just sorta laughed to himself as he read them aloud to me. He said, "you know, most of my patients would kill to have x-rays like this. Your knees look perfectly healthy."

Again it was a relief that there was nothing major wrong with me, but it was getting very frustrating to hear time and time again that nothing is showing up as being out of whack when I know there definitely is something out of whack. Hearing doctor after doctor say, to not stress so much, and you are perfectly healthy, starts to get old after a while...

My health was going to have to be in my own hands!

Realizing that I wasn't getting anywhere with doctors I decided to take my health into my own hands. I began researching the internet for other people who seemed to be going through similar things as me. 

The closest thing I could find were many people complaining about something called Fibromyalgia or Chronic Fatigue Syndrome. My symptoms seemed to align pretty well with either one of those. So, I took this new found information and I went back to my doctor and asked him what he thought.

He told me that Fibromyalgia matched up decently well with a lot of my symptoms and that it is basically a malfunction of the nerves sending messages to the brain. They are sending signals of pain and discomfort to the brain when really there isn't anything physically wrong where they should be sending those messages. As a result, I end up feeling pain when I shouldn't be. 

That seemed like a possibility but it was very odd to me that all the sudden out of no where my nerves and brain would start "miscommunicating" like that. For 26 years they were working fine and then randomly they start not working fine? I am a cause and effect kind of guy and that just didn't really make a lot of sense to me...

The doctor started telling me how he would like to prescribe a medication for me to kind of weaken those signals being sent to my brain to help with the pain and that I would likely have to take that medication for the rest of my life in order to reduce the pain I was feeling. Not something that sounded appealing to me in the slightest. 

I told the doctor that I would wait on the medication and try some more natural remedies first. 

I was going to try and get healthy my way first!

After going back and scouring the internet and doing plenty of research I began taking a plethora of multivitamins and supplements all touted to help something or another related to fibromyalgia. After a couple weeks of that I was feeling maybe 10% better, a negligible and non acceptable amount. 

Next, I would try different stretching and light workouts that I read about to relieve some of the pain and discomfort. I did yoga and tai-chi daily. I admit that I did feel better after doing those exercises, but maybe only about 30% better. It definitely didn't fix the problems but it certainly helped me feel better. 

I wasn't after a 30-40% improvement in my symptoms though, I was after a cure. Now how do I go about getting one? 

The rest will be continued in Part II tomorrow...

Image Sources:

http://www.hayleycamille.com/2017/01/31/an-invisibility-cloak-for-your-brain/

http://www.salon.com/2015/11/22/everything_is_fine_with_your_thyroid_the_doctor_told_me_youre_just_stressed/

http://doctoredebi.blogspot.com/2015/11/i-am-not-feeling-well-in-my-body-yet-my.html

http://www.medscape.com/viewarticle/858815

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/72690981461858514/

Follow: @jrcornel

Sort:  

Thank you for your excellent and very personal article. A close friend of mine also suffers from fibromyalgia and we both have tried to help the situation. She has done pretty much the same as you and taken in her own hands the responsibility for getting "better". What an exercise it has been. But more importantly, what a very empowering decision. Good for you good for us all.

Namaste :)

The most frustrating part is knowing something is wrong but not getting any answers as to what. I am not sure if it turned out to be fibro or what exactly, I just posted part II which comes to some what of a conclusion. Thanks for the comment and nice words, like always ;)

Looking forward to reading the end of this story now... Today, I have started a 10 day of spirulina usage, not more than 10g/day and, so far, has been an energizing one. The main energy giver is still a solid 3 litres of fresh water without chlorine in it that made a HUGE difference for me, and everyone else I have ever suggested the idea to. Though I live in Haida Gwaii where humidity levels are usually between 90-100%, the water intake is a must and made a monumental difference on energy levels throughout the day.

Off to reading the other article of yours now, namaste :)

That sounds interesting! Let me know how it goes!

I also suggest water! Being a knowledge nut and having Meningitis a little over a year ago. Happy to possibly help if I may. Wonder if anything changed in your environment to cause such a change of balance.

Yes, I did try water indeed.... lots of water.... check out part II ;)

Sorry to hear about your battle with Meningitis, that is nasty stuff... hope you are recovered now!

I suggest to keep fasting at times. This will ensure your body is cleaning itself. With regards to low testosterone and energy levels, fasting and skipping breakfast may help your energy levels too. As when your body fasts it creates higher levels of HGH, Human Growth Hormone.

Interesting. I did not know that about HGH. Periodic fasting was also recommended by another user. I will have to do some reading on it. Thanks for the tips!

My mom has fibromyalga, it's no joke. Learn your herbs. Off the top of my head I'd recommend camphor, arnica, wintergreen, pine, and frankensence to help with the muscle and joint pain. Be careful with the arnica and wintergreen, both are for external use only and WILL kill you if taken internally, do not drink them. (I'm referring to the essential oils). Camphor can also kill you if taken internally if taken in excess (more than a gram) so be careful with your dosages. Frankensence does all kinds of wonderful things and in particular heals nerve damage so that could be particularly important for you. You might also want to look into herbs (and subsequent essential oils) like cinnemon, eucalyptus, peppermint and lavender. I'd grab some myrrh too just for the hell of it but like frankensence, that shit will be expensive.

I will look into these things, thanks for the tips! My mom swears by essential oils... in fact, I think she sells them now lol. Maybe I will give her a call :)

Sounds like the start of Lyme disease

Very good guess... I'm about to post Part II ;)

I put you on FOLLOW and look our for it.

Iodine supplementation is a key to treating fibromyalgia and/or lyme disease. Iodine is supremely vital!

I have never heard that before. It must be in very low doses?

Nice write, seems like the usual way people go by, I was going to say check your nervous system at the start since there are many seemingly unrelated things, like the fact you feel fatigue but are unable to find out why. Anyways, it's the usual way to go about it, so I'm guessing it's a good example of treating the symptoms kind of thing, unroot the cause in part 2 ? :D

It's all in the roots, waiting on part 2 so I don't have to speculate. It's nice you've tried and used the natural way to get better, at least you've learned a lot about physiology and hopefully psychology :), doctors seem to have a lot of tables and go by them step by step, are you 20 great those pesky diseases you get when you are 40 don't matter :D , you will be ok don't worry so much, but that doesn't mean anything :D naah it's fine we are all broken anyways why be fit when you are above the mean, when you are 80% ok, it's fine for them which is great on it's own i suppose.

Having the responsibility for your health is a personal thing and it must be considered as such. Medical personel should be there for a check and to clear away misconceptions, but as far as I know nobody should have control over your health, much less with pills I might add. The body is our own and should be

PS have you tried water and light? :D

It's funny that you mention "water"... wait till you read part II ;)

You make some very good points here. I agree that we have to make our health our own, it is a shame that we are paying so much for healthcare yet we literally are just a number that doctors don't even remember. How can we expect them to help cure us of any chronic conditions if they can't even remember our name without consulting their chart... Our health is our own responsibility, unfortunately. Thanks for a great reply and I'm going to post part II shortly!

I'm not going to mention how the idea struck me :D

Waiting patiently :) It's good story, didn't want to say funny :D
Still thanks for sharing it :) I've had some run downs so I've gained some experiences with health care :D for one I had to solve my problems, it's good to have no one accountable for your actions and a free library next to your fingertips, definitely having a computer and internet helps out a lot, I hope more people take the initiative to learn and stop complaining and expecting. I still do it, but I've seen why not at least and I'm trying to get past the issues.

Cheers :) see you later will check back for sure :)

Interesting, thanks for sharing your insights! It is good to get many opinions, especially when it comes to one's health! I just posted part II if you are interested ;)

I had many of the above symptoms aswell and it took me 20 years to find out that i had borreliosis stage3-4 from a tick bite long long time ago. My muscles disappeared as every movement was pain. i was sleepy even after sleeping 12h, depressions, pain in the fingers, joints, mscles. I treated myself with MMS sucessfully finally after all antibiotics did NOT help because the borellias can survive in the white matter for weeks, months. It´s not gone totally but 95% of the symptoms are gone and my life has improved a lot a lot since then.

glad you found some help! What is MMS?

it´s the stuff your doctor gets angry if you tell him. its 25%NaCIO2+4%HCL mixed together and then after two minutes you add water. your red bloodcells love chlordioxid and carry it arond in your body. It helped me but it is highly controversy between people who got healed and the medical establishment! It was tested in the 70thies and is used to keep bloodpasma clean but still doctors ask e if im completely crazy. . . . It helped me so much that i´m just thankful to get a second life, feel like newborn after all this years of pain and depression.

I will read up on it. I am glad you were able to find something that helped you though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98