It's not about speed, it's about consistency ... Nice story with great teaching.

in #story7 years ago

Once upon a time a very small turtle. From the beginning of her life, everyone in her social circle despised her for being a very slow tortuguita.


As she passed by her great slowness, all the supposed friends shouted at her: THERE'S THE READY! They made fun of her.


The reason the friends made fun of them was that they were coyotes, lions, tigers, cheetahs, even horses.


Therefore, the tortoise was the smallest of all. For so many taunts one day the little turtle came home after going to school as usual, But came crying. The anguished mother asks:


-What happened? Why do you come crying?


The turtle responds:


"No mommy, do not worry.


Mother: Tell me son, you have full support in me. What happens?


Turtle: Well, if anything happens,


Mother: What happened?


Turtle: You know the coyote challenged me to a duel, Mom.


Mother: What, a duel? No, you're not going to fight.


Turtle: No mama, Not that kind of mourning, I dare to compete with him.


Mother: Compete? What kind of competition?


Turtle: He told me that I was not able to run faster than him for a distance of 100,000 miles mom. The truth is that this is a lot. I do not think he wins.


Mother (smiling): JAJAJA, that kind of mourning ?. Son you are able to travel that and much more. I do not see why that made you cry.


Turtle: Mom, you do not understand. That shouted to me in the middle of the hall of the school and all made a wheel and I challenge, in that the tiger that I like was happening and listened to the spectacle. Because I feel brave I said yes, but now I will win and the beautiful tiger will also make fun of me.


Mother (More smiling): Son. Go to the competition, do not be afraid of it. Usually turtles are characterized by being slow. But in the way you will find your virtue and you will feel very agusto to discover it.




As the days went by, the tortoise listened to her mother. He began his journey to school, arrived at the site and all the companions were there to see the action. All laughing, some distressed, others recording, the coyote had gone prepared, with special shoes, sweats, among other things.


The turtle on its part only carries its shell.


When the time comes. Everyone is asked to stand behind the starting line. Everyone applauded, shouted, whistled.

Until the shot was heard. PUM!


The first that leaves with all their strength is the coyote, so much that at 10 seconds is lost sight of all who watched.


On the contrary, the turtle goes slowly and step by step, with nothing to lose. Until the half hour is that it disappears from the view of the spectators.


Minutes and minutes passed. Neither the turtle nor the coyote came.


Hours passed by.


A whole day passed. Already the spectators tired of waiting so much, They began to leave one by one.


Until suddenly there was a black spot that was getting closer and closer.


The spectators began to wonder. Is it possible? Everyone was astonished to see that each time the point got bigger and closer. Many said: it is the turtle! Others said that the coyote was tired of running.


Until it arrived, finally after so many hours the turtle arrived, all astonished of what happened they began to ask him like it did, but in the middle of the unexpected somebody notices that the turtle had a tie between its shell and they ask: what is That tie


He answers: I bring our coyote in a cart. He collapsed at 20,000 km. Because I could not leave him alone. Find something to bring it.


Everyone turns and they see the coyote fainting, they remain each and every one of them very astonished and they ask to him. How did you do it How could you put up with a 100,000 km race, and drag the weight of a coyote with you?


He replied very happily:


I won our friend the coyote because he did not save energy for the long journey we had to cross, unlike me with my full slowness I was saving energy and even enjoying the way.




Moral: Life will always put obstacles in the way, some very difficult others easier. What you should do is not try to rush to get the answers faster than you can. It is best to take a slow but sure step, to take thousands of quick steps with instability.



Image obtained by: http://www.imagenestop.com/




I hope you like this post. Follow me:


@jorlenbolivar

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Dec 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.10 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 14 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

good character set,can't wait for your next update.

Thanks for your good comment my dear friend. greeting

Thanks for your good comment my dear friend. greeting

The turtle teaching stories is one of my favorites. When I first started meditation years ago I often thought of the story when I felt tired and lonely sitting at meditation retreat.

You are absolutely right my dear This story is one of those that teach with the least simplicity. Greetings and thanks for your good comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80