You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fictional Worlds of Duncan Cary Palmer

in #story7 years ago

Fiction is safe in a way, my friend. When you assert theological ideas and beliefs you tend to polarize your audience into an agreement/disagreement dichotomy whereas fiction allows for a poetic license and a willing suspension of disbelief on the readers' part.

Some of my characters like Jay Randall make me wince - especially the way he treats his literary shepherd/love interest, Melody Bride. Jay is conflicted like me - he allows me to explore consequences of my own flawed personality that inevitably lead to bad choices. Ouch!

I see so much untapped potential in you and the path of least resistance to allowing that to blossom is through literary art and fiction - it allows you to indulge in allegory like John Bunyan or modern fiction such as Michael Phillip's, A Rift in Time, which I know you'd enjoy and I can see you writing in this genre

Sort:  

Hey, John!

Thank you for saying that out loud. It helps me to hear it in so many words, and further encourages me along the fiction path. I do have some rather outré thoughts that I wish to explore in considerable detail, and I don't (usually—except in my more cynical moments) want to alienate my readers.

I've just now looked at Michael Phillip's Amazon pages... Talk about prolific! I'll have to give him a read.

Thank you once more, John, for your kind encouragement. :D

😄😇😄

@creatr

I am reading a Michael Phillip's book presently. Legends of the Celtic Stone - huge read with lots of history. He actually writes similarly to @johnjgeddes.

What John said to you though is true . You have a vast library of knowledge and an endless imagination that can be used to tell your story (whoever you are) through your aliases....Duncan Palmer, Creatr, or?

Thank you for the encouragement, friend.

There are two fictional universes that I'm most interested in; the antediluvian world, and the New Heavens and New Earth. They are both fictional only in the sense that they are not directly accessible to our observation. I have very strong beliefs about both.

I published this limited "backgrounder" about them here on Steemit a couple of days ago. Both universes are remote enough to be more or less "safe," but both are (I think) misunderstood by most, and consequently full of surprises that are interesting--at least to me.

I recently placed second in a fiction contest here with a story set in one of those universes. :) I hope to write more stories in both.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67411.34
ETH 3684.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75