You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: John J. Geddes — Author, Poet, Saint

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Thank you, creatr - I am humbled and flattered by your post. Of course, you know I was only joking about being a saint. I was probably spared the usual adolescent rebellion because I was painfully shy and am still socially awkward. I'm probably more like Henry Higgins in My Fair Lady :
... a quiet living man,
Who prefers to spend the evenings
In the silence of his room;
Who likes an atmosphere as restful
As an undiscovered tomb.
LOL!! sounds ridiculous, but it's closest to who I am.
Thank you, @creatr

Sort:  

My Dear friend John,

Of course I knew you said so in jest; in so doing, you played right into my hand.

By way of explanation, I must administer a brief remedial course in the nature of "sainthood." ;) In preparing this rejoinder, I found this collection of verses about saints quite uplifting, as I hope you also may.

The way the term "saint" is used in scripture retains its original semantics as pertaining to anyone and everyone who has been made holy, i.e. "set apart" by God for His purposes. Unfortunately, the word has come to be "elevated" in common use in modern times. Being the devious strategist that I am, I took intentional advantage of the "pun" to create a nice click-bait title. ;)

Nevertheless, and not by virtue of anything we may have done, you and I (along with all believers in Jesus) bear the designation of "holy" or "saint" because that is who God has made us to become.

"...giving thanks to the Father, who has qualified you to share in the inheritance of the saints in light." - Colossians 1:12

okay, I'll take that prize. I didn't really want a square on the holy calendar anyway. just a little place in heaven where I can watch stars with those I love :)

My needs are pretty simple as well, though perhaps a little more ambitious.

I plan to engineer surf planets, open an Inn for Interstellar Wayfarers on a planet orbiting in a five-sun solar system, hollow out a few asteroids to make them habitable long-distance transport conveyances, and so on... You know, simple adventures like that. ;) Of course, all my friends and loved ones are cordially invited to participate.

And I fully expect (entirely by the grace of Jesus) to do all of that and more one day in the New Heavens... ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65