A Night of Heartbreak in Dublin

in #story7 years ago (edited)

It was a beautiful summers day in Dublin, the sun was splitting the stones. We got a few cans of beer and went to St Stephens Green.

stpehens.jpg

We walked onto the green and there they were. The two beautiful Spanish girls we had drunkenly chatted to the night before. We sat down tentatively beside them... Their body language was bold and passionate. One of the girls was called Silvia, she was tall with long luscious black hair and mysterious green eyes. The other girl was called Juana, she had a smile that would brighten up anyone's darkest day.

We opened a few beers and started to reminisce about the previous night's antics and questionable decisions. Soon we were the centre of attention in the whole park as my friend John took out his guitar and started playing Galway girl but changed the lyrics to make the girls laugh. A crowd had gathered for singalongs and stories.

We said to the girls "today is your last day in Ireland, let's make it count" We grabbed them by the hands and took them through the small ancient streets of Dublin. We found ourselves in the old Bailey Bar which was home to some of Ireland greatest artists and minds. It just so happened that Luke Kelly was sitting in the corner tuning his rustic beaten up guitar that he had travelled the world with. We ordered four pints of Guinness. The girls took a sip and their eyes opened wide with delight... We laughed at their white moustaches left by the Guinness.

busy-bar.jpg

As the night went on the closer we became. I looked into Silvias eyes and everything else became distant. The music faded into the background. The laughter couldn't be heard, for that one moment, it was just her and me.

Suddenly I hear a shout "hey you!" I turned around expecting the worst. A big burly man stood at our table staring down angerly at me "what do you think you're doing" he growled. Then he smirked and said "get up there and dance with her" He grabbed me by the arm and pulled me onto the dance floor with Silvia. By now the music was getting louder, the whole place came to life. It was exhilarating, I couldn't have been any happier.

As the night grew on the music died and the drinks were no longer being served. We collapsed in the corner on a couch. Silvia then turned to me and said "I must go" I felt my heart sink, I tried to speak but no words came out. She stroked my cheek, leaned in and kissed me. Her lips came as some surprise. I felt her hand slip away as she walked out of the bar she suddenly stopped. She went to the bar and asked for something. Then walked over to me. She stared into my soul as she walked towards me with her mischievous smirk and left a napkin on the table. She gave me one last kiss and walked out.

The note said "come visit me" with her address and number underneath. Suddenly my friend burst into the pub after getting into a fight with another guy. I jumped between them to break it up and dragged him out of the bar.

The next morning I woke up black and blue with a heavy heart. I reached into my wallet to look for the note and realised I had nothing in there only a few worthless receipts. I panicked and jumped out of bed and turned my room upside down looking for the note but it was nowhere to be found. I returned to the bar, praying that they hadn't thrown it away but they looked at me and just gave me a sorry smile.

As I sit on St Stephens green today, I think back to that beautiful time where I met Silvia and what could have been. Now every time I see the sun glistening on the lake I can't help think of her.

Cherish every moment because we never know if you will be able to experience it again.

Sort:  

Congratulations @johnhalley! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @johnhalley! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43