The boy who lost himself ( Short story )

in #story7 years ago (edited)

pexels-photo-42153 (1).jpeg

I was thinking to myself witch always starts off with good intention of inspiring myself in a positive go get them type of way but rapidly changes direction and takes me down a dismal road of me getting caught up in all the negative aspects of life and results with me feeling a bit more alone and a bit more lost the I was before I started. Anyway this time I was thinking about what I was going to do this summer, what I wanted to do with my life in general, hell I was just thinking about what I was going to do today. One thing I knew was if I just took one day at a time without working towards anything I wouldn't amount to much.

I had listened to a lot of motivation clips on youtube and distinctly remember the quote from Earl Nightingale "If your ship doesn't have a destination it will never arrive and most probably just float about in the ocean but if it has a destination and a crew working hard towards getting there it will most certainly reach it"
Ironically this was how I felt like in this moment, except not being a mighty ship but maybe more like a minuscule rubber boat drifting off into the unknown.

My name is Charlie and I am the lost boy referred to in the title, even though I'm probably not the only boy who is lost in this "easy to get lost world" (lack of better words). I use this fact to reassure myself I'm not the only one who doesn't have my shit figured out. But then of course the annoying wiser part of my brain the "Yoda mentor type one" kicks in and has to ruin the moment by saying " Someone else having problems doesn't justify you having them and certainly doesn't help you to fix them "

Moving on from the disturbing fact that I have another voice inside my head giving me advice, where was I ?
Ooh Yea, I was telling you about my future plans.

The end, or to be continued?

Do you guys feel this way? I certainly do at times, comment your thoughts on the topic "feeling lost" or tell me if you want the story to be continued!

Sort:  

Congratulations @johannes123! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58665.29
ETH 2302.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51