RUTABAGA MAN

in #story6 years ago (edited)

The Rutabaga Man.

Yesterday I saw him parked at the quick stop with his pickup filled with collards, mustard greens and super rutabagas. Had to stop. He said $4. Wow great price for such a huge bunch of homegrown. But when I opened my purse the moths flew out and I only had $2.

I asked, "Will you split the bunch I only have $2?"

He was adamant, "NO!"

It was the end of the day. What was he going to do? Take them home with him? There were several bunches. I thought he didn't trust me and thought I was telling him a tale. I showed him my little wallet and the $2 saying, "I just gave a donation and forgot I only had this much left."

Still, "NO!"

So I drove away. I knew he had made a mistake in not trusting me and thinking I was trying to cheat him. A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush. Why not take the $2?

So today I saw him. When he saw me he smiled like the sun coming up in the morning. Big smile. He knew he had made a mistake the other day and I felt he was glad I had come back.
There it was the big bunch of rutabagas.

SANY5111.JPG

"How much?"

He said sheepishly, "$3" as if to make up for the mistrust yesterday and now we were good friends.

I took them and told him, "You're not asking enough for your stuff. These are beautiful." And gave him $4
what fun.
.

Sort:  

Slap me and I will give you a smile. This sometimes actually work and stumbles the attitude of the person who slapped and if not, at least it gives us an immense eternal pleasure.

Loving exchange is what makes life worth living.

when there was a mistake and did not believe it ended up being a friend

without realizing it eventually became friends

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66217.53
ETH 3316.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70