Bunkers Chapter 29, Song of Angels, Book III

in #story7 years ago

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Bunkers - Chapter 29 - Song of Angels, Book III

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Song of Angels - Book 1 - Table of Contents
Birth - Book II -Table of Contents

Book III Previous Chapters:
Table of Contents,

As Rephael lay unconscious and after he was bandaged, Cyrus, Holk, and the captains looked around waiting. Cyrus said, "Look at that."

One by one the dead spawn turned into the dead bodies of teenagers and when that happened, they lied there motionless for a little while and then they ascended. The closest turned to the group and said, "Thank you for setting me free." Up she went.

"I going to spend all my time with the Chaplain that I can." One of the captains mumbled.

"I am going to become a Chaplain." A second said. Everyone else remained silent and stared while it happened.

They were so engrossed they did not watch Rephael stir, move his hand just a little bit. Then he opened his eyes and coughed and something shot out of his mouth, maybe it partially blocked his airway. His eyes began to focus and he saw the five men standing around him and he coughed again. "I am able to breathe," Rephael said weakly.

Oh how his chest hurt but he felt his strength quickly return. He turned his head in the direction of the men and saw a brunette girl of about thirteen or so, stand up, look their way, smile at him, and then she rose into the air.

"What is happening?" Rephael asked as he sat up.

"Captain Weeks, the spawn are changing into children." One of the other captains said, and then he looked at Rephael and exclaimed, "You're alive!"

The other men turned to look at Rephael and Cyrus bent over and talked to him, "Can you get up? Can you get us out of here?"

I can get us out of here," Rephael replied and began to stand up. Cyrus and the captains helped him. Holk was oblivious to Rephael as he watched the spawn turn to children and then ascend.

Once they had him on his feet and steady Cyrus asked, "Are you sure you are well enough to do this?"

"I am yes, something was caught in my throat and it must have partially blocked the air to my lungs but it is gone now. I would like to watch this though, Father."

"Yes, it is something isn't it." Cyrus and the rest returned to watching the spawn for the next few minutes in silence until near the very last he said, "Somehow, that demon or devil or whatever he was must have captured their souls."

"And now he is again bound and they are free." Rephael replied as the last child rose up.

"We will have to gather the fallen and all the equipment." Rephael heard one of the captains say, "We will do that, go, get your Dad and Holk out of here."

"Yes," Rephael agreed, "Come on Dad and Holk, it is time to go home. And you'll all need one of these. Rephael bent over and picked up a piece lying on the ground. He handed it to Cyrus, "Or you will die very soon."

Cyrus took the piece and Holk found his own and then asked, "We can die from being in here?"

"It won't be as bad for you Holk but Dad has been outside of his time too many times and for too long. He wasn't supposed to come in here and my Momma wasn't either but thankfully you did or I think we would not have succeeded." Rephael walked forward and Cyrus and Holk followed, rifles in one hand, pieces in the other.

"I am feeling much better." Cyrus said with the piece in his hand.

"So am I." Holk agreed, "I thought it was all the tension passing and what I just witnessed."

"I am sure that has something to do with it as well." Rephael agreed, "But it is deadly for normal people to be in here in the flesh too long and the death is not pretty, or so I have been told by Dad."

"I should have told you Holk, I just didn't think about it." Cyrus said as they walked.

"Well, we rid the world of somethin' or other didn't we?" Holk asked.

"We did." Rephael and Cyrus said together.

"Then I suppose I am glad to be a part of it even if it would a killed me." Holk replied.

"We are here, Father, your time." Rephael said, "And don't let Eon come in until he is at least ten years old."

"So is this good bye forever then, Son?" Cyrus asked Rephael.

"I hope so, without meaning any ill will or disrespect, Father." Rephael answered.

"I think I know what you mean." Cyrus replied and carefully hugged Rephael. Once they released, Holk shook his hand,

"It has been a pleasure and well, I don't know what else to say." Holk said.

"Yes, it has been a pleasure Holk, now you and Dad," Rephael directed to them both, "Take these pieces for Momma and Myra and give them to them to hold after you hold them for at least a minute, maybe five, maybe five for Momma too Dad."

"And then set them down right near the opening," Cyrus finished.

"Yes," Rephael replied. "Back home you go." Cyrus and Holk saw the fence and the house behind it and stepped forward to meet Mindy and Myra.

"We were so worried." Mindy said as she reached up to put her spare arm around Cyrus, "You're my hero." They kissed while Myra and Holk held each other closely.

Rephael stood watching from the in between like he sometimes did. He wished he could go talk to his mother, that he wasn't over a hundred and fifty years old, his parents long gone. A tear dropped down his cheek as he looked on, "I wonder if I will ever die like everyone I have ever known?" While he stood there watching, remembering, from somewhere he heard a voice,

"I have a few more tasks for you but I will watch over you while you do them." Rephael had heard things like this before and he wondered what he might face for a few moments, took one last look at himself as a boy, his mother Mindy, his Father Cyrus, Myra, and Holk. They set down the pieces and he reached through and took them into the in between.

He turned and walked back to the captains, "Looks like we are ready to leave this place." Rephael said as he observed the scene. He addressed them, "Make sure you each have a piece once we are out and hold it for at least five minutes before we do anything else." The best plans and the things that need to be done immediately are sometimes cast aside in the heat of the moment.

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz Book One - Meeting is available in Paperback here: https://www.amazon.com/Jeffery-Kubitz/e/B01MXY9YHR

Sort:  

This is very good can't wait to read more of your stories if they are as good as this one

Thank you for your compliments throughout the book. I will hopefully come up with something but my next things will move away from fantasy to Steinbeck and Hemingway type novels

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69942.87
ETH 3793.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73