Bunkers - Chapter 13 - Song of Angels, Book III

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Written for Steemit: A love story occurs during a time anomaly. A woman from today somehow steps into an

anomaly and meets a cowboy asleep on his ranch, in his bed, in the 1850's. ©Jeff Kubitz 2016 - 2017 All Rights Reserved.

Bunkers - Chapter 13 - Song of Angels, Book III

K34444009d0.jpg
Mindy Woczlewski courtesy of Nastya Muratokova

Song of Angels - Book 1 - Table of Contents
Birth - Book II -Table of Contents

Book III Previous Chapters:
Table of Contents,

The piece Rephael held in his hand began to glow as he touched it to Asmodeus. The roar from the jinni’s mouth deafened like a huge bomb going off.

Asmodeus struck Rephael with his hand. Rephael flew back and slammed against the wall of the helicopter hard. It knocked the wind out of him but he did not drop the piece. If he did not have on his back pack to cushion the blow, Rephael thought he would be dead.

The other two men with their pieces were almost to Asmodeus. Three strides away, Asmodeus grew huge and stepped over the helicopter wreckage to the other side. “I am going to give you an eternity of horrible deaths.” Asmodeus fled toward one of the pillars. As Asmodeus left, Rephael faded into unconsciousness.

“Medic, see to the Captain,” The Captain ordered and then said to the rest, “After that thing!”

They all ran around the crashed Chinook and ran after Asmodeus. He must have been a hundred feet tall. There was no way they could catch him as he raced across the desert floor to the Pillar that was closest. In ten strides, Asmodeus was outside the range of the rifles the soldiers carried. Their bullets bounced off his shield as spawn rose and followed after him.

“That puny worm is so lucky. Some day his luck will run out and I will have him, open the gate, I will flood this world with my kind, and rule it, but first, somehow, I have to catch him unawares and take that piece from him.” Asmodeus said to himself as he raced to the Pillar, one of nine stationary vortexes in the valley laid out in a huge circle in the desolation of the Great Basin Desert.
“I will need at least a month to recover. I need to step out somewhere where they do not have weapons like this place.”

“Try the Kalahari Desert in Africa.” Asmodeus heard one of his followers speak. “The portal to there is open for you. Nothing is there. No one is there but one of us, your followers.” The woman said in a normal voice from outside the circle of the Pillars, standing in the midst, hiding amongst, tall sage where no one could see her as she watched the battle.

Jet black, long, straight hair in a pony tail braid to her waist, olive Persian skin, breathtakingly beautiful and evil to the core of her luscious five foot seven inch body, “I am your high priestess here in this land, my name is Nelika Mashadi.”

“I will reward your loyalty beyond your wildest dreams my high priestess.” Asmodeus spoke into her mind so none else could hear as he ran. “Now unless you are needed in this place any longer, run far and fast because they have ways of seeing you even if you are hidden and you cannot travel with me and live or I would take you now.”

“I obey my Lord of Darkness.” Nelika whispered to the air. She turned and ran to her SUV, a desert tan Ford Explorer. Asmodeus entered the vortex while she started the engine. He disappeared and emerged from the vortex in the most desolate and barren wastes of the Kalahari.

“I wasn’t one of our soldiers who gave us away during the Utah operation to remove that thing. Can we get a plate number?” General Sherman observed as he watched the satellite imagery feed on a huge monitor.

“Not from this angle sir.” One of the technicians said.

“Launch three drones and keep that vehicle in the center of the image until we know exactly who she is and where she is headed. Notify teams to arrest her once she stops.”

“Yes sir.”

“Colonel Baker, send in aid to our soldiers there at the battle site.” The general ordered.

“Yes sir.”

“Captain Rephael is one brave son of a bitch. Write him up for a citation. I hope he is still alive.” General Sherman said. Let put ordinance on those vortexes in Nevada and get rid of them all.”

“Yes Sir,” Another Colonel answered.

Asmodeus stepped out of the vortex and he heard,

“Welcome my Lord of the Night; I am Khalid, your humble servant.”

"I must take a few minutes and regain my strength, then retrieve the rest of my spawn. Is this possible?"

"It is my Lord." Khalid answered.

"Does anyone besides my servants know of this place, or the others like it?"

"They do not my Lord."

"Good. See to it none who learns of these places lives. If necessary tell me and I will keep our secrets silent among us."

"Yes, my Lord."

Follow me: @jeff-kubitz Book One - Meeting is available in Paperback and EBook here: https://www.amazon.com/Jeffery-Kubitz/e/B01MXY9YHR

Sort:  

This is getting very intense can't wait to read more

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84