You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visitation Rites - Day 1 (A Halloween Special)

in #story8 years ago

This is a great opening for the series. The piece itself is very meaty and leaves the reader hooked. The slow burn with the exposition is a nice touch, it gives the feel that we're journeying along with Jamie. The way you script things is so descriptive, it's like I was living every moment of it.

On a side note, my self-published novel has a benevolent cat presence as well, so I have a soft spot for these kinds of stories. Looking forward to reading the next part!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot, @jedau!

Thanks for the massive compliment! I put a lot of thought into character development, story pacing and building tension so you saying that is humbly accepted by me. I'm sure you know what that's like being a fellow writer and all. Writer's block can be a very real thing!

Didn't know you had a cat-based novel out on Steemit! Will definitely be checking that out, buddy! :)

Oh, no. Not on Steemit, unfortunately. I self-published a novel more than 3 years ago, and while the cat isn't a main character there, it's a soft introduction for when he'll be one of the main characters :)

You have a real gift, man. I say that with the utmost admiration for your work. The character are really fully fleshed, and the pacing and the tension is timed perfectly!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57497.94
ETH 3099.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32