You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 17 (1 of 2) (My Original Novel)

in #story8 years ago

Before I met you, I wouldn't have believed that I would continually be impressed with someone's writing 17 chapters in. I mean, a normal person would've slowed a bit, or hit a bump along the middle, but that surely isn't the case with the great @ezzy! The way you set up a scene and the way you visualize the imagery really has a way of taking the reader right there with the characters. It's truly astounding how you seem to improve with every chapter, brother!

It's such an intimate scene with Dee and Marv, and it's a nice foil to Drucker's introspection. A storm is brewing, and we're all in the midst of the calm before it. I liked how Dee referred to herself as a "person." One would argue that technically she isn't, but the remorse she feels and the questions she mulls over really make it seem that she has evolved into something that truly passes as a person. At this point, to take that right away from her is seemingly just inhumane.

Marv continually serves as the voice of reason, and I wouldn't have it any other way. I've already gushed at my admiration for his character and how he's written, so I won't repeat myself. This chapter is all about Dee, growing pains, the anxiety of changing and what it means when we regard the synthetics in the same breath as normal humans.

Amazing job as always, my brother. Never lose sight of the vision. And, I know you, I know that you will follow this chapter up flawlessly :D

Sort:  

Hey, my brother!

Man, waking up to comments like that reminds me how much I would miss you if you ever left here (which I know you won't, lol). Thanks so much again for the awesome, unreal praise. There is a lot of dialogue for now as the characters are all deep in the story and are planning their path through to the next (final?) part.

Dee has taken a back seat for now as it is shown that she needed Marv all along to be the backbone of her plan and support structure for them all. Even though they are synthetics, they are conscious and fully sentient therefore consider themselves as people in their own right. They feel emotions, they react to morale dilemmas and get hurt from some of them in the process.

I'm getting to the tricky parts of the book so thanks for letting me know I'm still on track. Will post the next part up tomorrow hopefully to conclude this chapter and start on the big next one. The finish line is now in sight so I pray it all turns out well.

Thanks so much again, mt brother! Your absolute positivity and enthusiasm are unparalleled and such an inspiration. Also, must say congrats on both yourself and @dreemit on getting picked up by Curie. They know great talent when they see it.

Bless you, my bro! :)

I have left Steemit for quite a while a few months back though :/ But, when I came back, that's when I stumbled upon The Job and then Visitation Rites, and then it snowballed to where we are today. It's always fun looking back :D

Oh, man, tomorrow couldn't come so soon! In this instance I'm glad we're not caught in a loop like Caleb and Lissa from @dreemit's fantastic new series! You're doing a masterful job juggling the action with the conversations, and I have no doubt that you'll bring this baby home splendidly, my brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68363.69
ETH 2642.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69