You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Symbiotic Protocol - Chapter 14 (2 of 2) (My Original Novel)

in #story8 years ago

And so the mystery deepens! Amazing choice ending with that cliffhanger. You've really mastered the art of taking your readers to the edge of their seats. If I hadn't half expected a cliffhanger, I would be grabbing my screen and shouting "Who's watching them?! Spew your secrets, you infernal machine!"

Fantastic follow-up yet again, brother. It was a great decision to divide the chapter into two parts. This was a great compliment to the first one. The emotions conveyed here are just so rich. You really give the reader a sense of empathy for these synthetic beings so effortlessly. The way you write is so engrossing, and I'm glad you reached back to a conversation-heavy chapter after so much action in the recently concluded ones.

I think I spoke too soon when I said that Marv was zen :/ This fully-fleshed out backstory though was ... wow. You really dug deep with it, and I like how you exposed all those deep-rooted scars. It really gave me a whole new appreciation for the character. I also like the developments regarding Sy.

As someone who had worked with AI professionally in the past, I have some conflicting thoughts regarding the justification, but I'll reserve those for the next chapters. You know you've hit on something spectacular when it arouses differences in perspectives. Great job as always, my brother. Suffice to say, I'm looking forward to reading the next chapter! :D

Sort:  

My brother! Hope you keeping well!

Yep, that's cliffhanger should set things up nicely for the upcoming chapter. Don't really like leaving things like that but this time it just fit into the story so I believe I could get away with it, lol!

The chapters are getting too long now so splitting them up really helps in terms of length as well as editing wise, so thank you for being so understanding about that.

Had been planning on putting out a part where they attempt to convince Sy to be an unconditional part of the team, but I'm glad you thought I placed to correctly in the story-verse. Was initially going to slot in the conversation when they were all in the car (just before the gas station), but now seemed overall a better choice. Really like the character of Marv and thought about various stories I could attach to him but given the contextual basis of how synthetics are living in that world, this one won out! :)

I didn't know you worked on AI projects in the past! That's awesome! I should have come to you for my research, lol! Maybe we can discuss this in more detail on steemchat! :)

Again, words fail me when attempting to describe my appreciation for your excellent analysis and encouragement! Hopefully we can follow on from here in the chatroom! :)

Thanks again and take care, my brother! :)

I, well I made a milestone post, and you two are in there so...;)

I read the milestone before seeing this comment, and it was a nice surprise to start my day :) I've already left a comment there!

I'm glad that it was the winner, as I couldn't imagine a better backstory! :D Also, the initial Sy conversation might have been to premature if it was before the gas station and could've been too convoluted if it was slotted between the chase. Awesome choices all around! This is what makes discussing stories in the comments section fun. Readers get a look of the stories that could've been and the thought process behind every chapter, while the authors get instant feedback and encouragement. Everyone's a winner!

I would be honored to help out any way I can, you know that, brother :D Although, for the purity of The Symbiotic Protocol, I think it would be great if your vision remained intact, and we could just collaborate on a different project. But, if you feel that my thoughts regarding AI would be beneficial to the story, then it would be my pleasure to contribute any way I can :D

That's great to hear that you feel the backstory worked out. Juggling the characters and story lines from here on in must add up and indirectly connect that dots with each other so getting the thumbs up from you gives me that peace of mind at least, lol!

I totally see what you mean when possible story arc's are broken down, explained and reasons for final choices given. It's so much fun and can't tell you what a joy it is discussing it with you. Will absolutely do the same when you decided to release your masterpiece! :)

Yes, bro. I'm 100% serious when I say that if their are certain elements I feel may require a second opinion and because you've had previous experience with the subject matter I cover, would love to run some stuff past you in the future. If you have the time, of course! I've got pretty much the entire book's story under wraps and know the fate for each character now, but it's the little details now that need the most clarification and work.

Thanks once again, @jedau, you awesome, unparalleled gift to the community of Steemit!

Yeah, I know what you mean, the middle is always the hardest, since you already have defined characters and readers who've already invested in the story. It's a fine line which I'm sure you're going to navigate swimmingly!

That's great then :D I'm happy and honored to contribute to this epic! Just message me with your thoughts and I'll try to get to it as soon as I can. I try to carve some time daily for Steemit-related activities.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65