You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Allies of Old; Book Two Renewal: Chapter Sixty Five "Barely Out Of Training Bras"

in #story7 years ago

Okay, so this chapter poses a lot of problems for me. As I'm one of your top supporters, I'm looking ahead to the time you're ready to publish this. Consider this pro bono work, but I'm full-on Team Dreemit for this. I just really want to flesh out some key points you might want to consider.

Since I'm sounding like a broken record at this point, I just want to briefly touch upon Michael's entitlement issues here, because it's on full display. I totally agree that he's a necessary character, after all, not all characters should be liked. He just comes across as someone who isn't suited for the role he's given, at least for me.

With regard to Jess, I really wish she wouldn't need to feel apologetic about everything. This is why she gets "taken advantage of" by people, or people consider her inferior. Now that she has these amazing abilities, all the more reason for her to step out of her shell. I really liked her sidestory with the Brothers Three. Probably my favorite one in Renewal by far. But, her turn here pining over Michael really gets me down. It's not that it's Michael. I know I wanted to ship her with anyone else, but the real problem point for me is her pining for someone.

I'm sure other people would have the same gripe (particularly feminists), but she shouldn't be defined other people. I totally get how she's envious of Anna's bond with Jared, but now that she's the lone turned female who doesn't have a mate, the world is her oyster. She should be carving her own path instead of seeking a mate. Let Michael or anyone else (please?) chase after her, instead of her chasing after them, no? I get Michael's old school sensibilities, and while it's believable, it totally comes off as dick-ish. The sooner he realizes the world doesn't revolve around him, the better. For Jess, the sooner she realizes the world is hers for the taking, all the more better.

I know it spent a couple of chapters to set this up, but it feels a bit rushed. Talking about the Jess/Michael connection. I don't recall, but did you write her having special feelings for him way way back in Reborn? If you did, then that's totally fine. Kind of like sowing the seeds. But now, going from Tyros to Michael feels a bit off for me. I get Tyros sunk his chances, but I certainly hope Jess doesn't gravitate towards Michael just because of destiny. That's Anna's thing haha! Anyway yeah, I liked the way the reunion of Anna and Jess was written, it's just that when they start talking about boys that I get a bit lost. Maybe they could've talked about Anna's father and other topics first.

Sort:  

I actually have to respond to this comment in chat, though I'm going to try not to give you any spoilers that will actually spoil anything, in order to address this I will probably have to give you a glimpse of the future that I'd rather other readers not have :)
I'm actually writing this in busy.org because steemit is really glitching today.

I have responded to it haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55326.60
ETH 2348.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32