You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Allies of Old; Book Two Renewal: Chapter Seventy Nine "New Skill and a Bet"

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Oh man, I think this is the best Jenna-"centric" chapter so far. I know it's not exclusively hers, but her specific arc here really clicked for me. This is the first time I could relate to her ever since you told me that Jenna was based on your friend that I could relate to. Her introspection thinking about how she's going to wither while Anna and Jess would still look the same was just so well written. Definitely something that' been on my mind ever since Jess was turned.

I'm not sure if it was intentional, but her arc interspersed with the deep dimming exercise really emphasized how she's the one almost invisible in that scenario. I really like how she excused herself by mixing a mimosa haha!

This makes me really wish that Jenna won't ever be turned into a vampire. That tragic reality would really resonate throughout the group. The one that's almost always forgotten wouldn't truly be integrated. Very heartbreaking, yet very fitting. I'm sure that'll really inject a lot of pathos into Mathias, which is quite a welcome addition to his already cocky nature.

Just adding them to the group really shook up the dynamics for me. I love it! Definitely one of my favorite chapters of Renewal! Top notch stuff, sis :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39