You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌊"Big Wednesday" - December 21st, 2005 🌊 - Riding the Largest Waves of My Life 🌊

in #story7 years ago

Thanks for sharing a link to this post, @creatr! The way you write makes me feel like I'm there with you. Watching the video was peaceful. It was hard to get a sense of the size of the waves until about 34 seconds in when the surfers look like dots on the water. Another great capture of the size of the waves was at 3 mins, 5 seconds in . . . helped me understand what you meant by 'drop'. I was surprised to see a boat catching a wave at 8 mins, 20 seconds - isn't that risky (I'm assuming a boat has less maneuverability)?

Sort:  

Thanks for this very encouraging comment. I really do want readers to feel a sense of "being present" with me.

Truth be told, I want to persuade you to try surfing if you haven't yet. It is really the best of all possible sports, IMHO... :D

As far as the boat goes, I'll assume that the pilot was a skilled surfer... and it looked like the wave he was entering was not too threatening. It would have been nice to see the outcome, but the camera panned away...

The boat may be less maneuverable, but it has greater speed. The speed allows a skilled pilot to get the boat to "the sweet spot" expeditiously, and thus that would remove considerable risk.

Note: Skilled pilot! ;)

Ah! Yes, . . speed . . I forgot about that factor! Hahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58617.29
ETH 3164.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44