Is There Purpose In Tragedy

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I've often wondered why good people go through so much suffering. It just didn't make sense until recently.

wheelchair-999622_640.jpg

A few weeks ago, I chanced upon this movie titled Breath. While I tend to like action, and science fiction, I also enjoy comedy, rom-com or romantic comedy, war etc. to stimulate different brain cells at different time.

I particularly enjoy inspiring movies that are based on true stories. Even more if the movie tries to stay true to real events, and with good acting to boot.

Breath is about Robin Cavendish, who contracted polio in his prime just after marrying his sweetheart Diane after a whirlwind romance. It left him paralyzed from neck down with 3 months to live. To stay alive, it requires a breathing machine 24/7.

They just had a baby too. Until then, I didn't know that polio can paralyzed a person.

It is an understatement to say that medical technology is not as developed as it is today. Man people who are paralyzed have suicidal thoughts. Robin is no different, thinking that is better for everyone, and also that his young wife, can start over.

I'm particularly impressed that his wife wanted no part in it, and took it upon herself to care for him. You really need to see the movie to feel the true impact. Words do not justice.

I wonder what would I do in a similar situation. If I'm Robin, what would I do and say? If'm in the wife's position, how would I take it?

These are question with no easy answer until you face it.

By the way, when I read his story after the movie, I looked up Christopher Reeve who was also paralyzed from the neck down after a riding accident. He too wanted to switch off the ventilator. More on Christopher later.

Long story short, Robin with his friend Teddy Hall over time created a mobile breathing machine that allowed him and others like him to enjoy some semblance of life.

When I watch the movie, and read the story of Robin Cavendish, Christopher Reeve, I begin to see that good can come out of tragic events.

Many people benefited from Robin Cavendish's inventions. Instead of a life sentenced to living bed ridden, many today have the opportunity to live a fuller live. Christopher Reeve also spent a lot of his last years to raise funds for spinal cord research after his accident.

Both stories are so inspiring to me because living while totally depending on others with so much limitation requires courage. It is much easier to give up.

It is also inspiring to those that stood by the side of their life partners. That is truly love. It makes me wonder if I have what it takes given similar circumstances.

Understanding the issue

I only realized how much more difficult to do simple things when I helped my brother in law who was disabled go shopping. A person in a wheelchair need to go all the way to the elevator to change floors. Anyone else could just use the escalator or stair.

Simple things just takes so much longer

Sometime I compare people with such disabilities accomplishing so much compared to healthy able bodied people, it just inspires me when such people overcome challenges and become inspiration to others.

There are many more people like that out there. Perhaps a bit better known in recent years is Nick Yujicic, born without arms and legs, but there are many out there where they are living with courage, overcoming challenges and suffering. And in the bigger picture, making a difference in other people's lives.

We who are able bodies thus own it to ourselves and others to strive for greater things not just for ourselves, but for others. Let's not wait until tragedy strikes before we decide to do something significant.

I believe that greater good can come out of tragic events. Not all the time, though. Sometimes.

p.s. go watch the movie. You will be inspired.

photo credit

James Woo
Online Educator, Entrepreneur, Tech Enthusiast
helping other create a better life at JamesWoo.net

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52