You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet my supervisor

in #story7 years ago

I've worked remotely from home for over 6 years now. I've found it to be liberating. I can run errands, be with my family more, and take plenty of time for myself (like on Steemit). I suggest four things to help you be successful at it:

  1. Always get your work assignments done on time and at high quality. If you deliver everything that is asked of you, it will be much harder to question your ability to work remotely.

  2. Respond immediately to phone calls and emails (as much as possible without putting at risk #1). This will make it seem like your right there with them, ready to help at any moment, not like some guy working in who knows where who takes forever to respond.

  3. Be willing to take calls and answer emails outside of regular hours (occassionally, don't make this a habit). When you tell someone, sure, give me a call at 6 pm and I'll be happy to help, they'll be greatly appreciative and your remoteness won't be noticed.

  4. Finally, I suggest reading the book the "4 hour work week". There is some discussion about working remotely and how to be effective while reducing your workload.

Sort:  

Thank you for answering and share your experiences. Will check out the book you mention.

I believe it could be just an adapting phase even though as in my past jobs i've always worked with the public and had coworkers.

I dont actually have a schedule but its expected a certain timeframe, so can't really run for errands whenever I please. And to keep my self sane I actually have a timed routine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59159.44
ETH 2522.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47