WHEN YOUR PAST COMES CALLING

in #story6 years ago (edited)

image

I was 16 years old when I got to admission to study Electrical and Electronics in the university. My mother wanted me to wait at home for a year because she felt I was too young but my father insisted I should go ahead. My first year was very easy, it was a continuation of my Secondary school courses. After my first year, my CGPA was 4.5 out of 5. I danced like I hit a jackpot when I checked my result online, I proudly showed my parents and they rewarded me

Second year was not easy with many engineering courses and little time for myself. I had to associate with my colleagues so I can meet them to help with my academics. My CGPA dropped to 3.8, it was still a good result compared with other course mates. Emmanuel helped me with my academics and we eventually became good friend at the end of second year.

We became inseparable and stayed in the same room the following year with two other students, Daniel and Jacob. We cooked, went to classes and did many things together. We were both single but I told him I would stay single till I graduate. A month after resumption, we were all in the room discussing after classes. Daniel, a 200 Level Chemistry student, told us about a new girl in his department that was her junior in high school. He narrated how they met in the department and he ended the discussion with “she is coming here tomorrow evening after lectures.” Females are allowed in the male hostel between 4pm – 10pm and the other way round.

I and Emmanuel had a busy schedule the next day, from lectures to tutorials. We headed to the room around 8:30 pm. We were hungry and tired. Emmanuel entered the room first, I stayed back to clean my shoes. He rushed back outside. “If you see the girl Daniel was talking about, she looks like a goddess, just come inside and see for yourself.” He dragged my shirt and we entered together.

Lo and behold, he was right. She stood up to greet us. She was looking like a mermaid coming out of still water. Her gown tight around her curvy body, her hair like silk. She smiled, her teeth were as white as snow. Daniel introduced us to her, we shook hands. I kept on shaking till Emmanuel separated us. It was love at first sight. Her name kept ringing in my head, Joy. She had the perfect smile and the perfect name. When she left, I made my intentions known to everybody in the room, they mocked me and Daniel even said it was not possible.

To cut the long story short, we started dating after two months of asking her out, pleas, love SMS and gifts. My dream came true. We became inseparable, we were like peas in a pod. The next holiday was just perfect for us, we stayed in the same state. We saw almost every day. She came to my house, I introduced her to my mother, sisters and brother. They all liked her. Yes, I couldn’t introduce her to my father yet, it was not the right time.

We planned our future together. We talked about marriage, the number of children we would have and many more. We would kiss and hug, she told me she was a virgin and we would wait till marriage before we had sex. I was a virgin too, it was easier for me to make such pact with her. I would lie to my friend that we have had sex so he would stop asking me questions related to it.

The fourth year, engineering students only use a semester in school. The second semester is for industrial training (IT). I and Emmanuel rented an apartment outside school. We planned to sublet it when we leave for IT. It was also good for my relationship with Joy. She would come around to play with us, sometimes cook and Emmanuel would tutor her on some courses. Everything went perfectly well. We never had a single quarrel.

After exams, Emmanuel had to go home immediately for a family event. Joy told me to stay back. We were together in the room for a month. She made moves for us to have sex but I couldn’t interpret until later. The last night before we travelled, we had our first fight.

We used to romance and kiss with our clothes on to avoid any further temptation. This particular night, she was stark naked. I had seen her naked many times but it was different this night - the lust in her eyes, the excitement all over her body and the way she kept calling my pet name. She told me to strip but I didn’t. I thought I was doing us a favor but she got angry, put on her cloth and slept off.

We settled some days later but it was not the same. She stopped calling like she used to, she stopped calling me by my pet name (dewdrop). I accepted all the excuses she gave because I was madly in love with her. I resumed my industrial training in an engineering firm, it took my mind off her a little because I was busy. Another twist to this, she became demanding. The only time she would call was when she needed money to make hair or to buy stuffs.

One particular evening, Daniel called me and stylishly asked me if we were still together and I had to open up to him. He didn’t say much and I never understood that “sometimes, silence means many things have gone wrong.” When they resumed, she called me not to sublet our room again, she would stay there with her female friend, Chichi. I called Emmanuel and he agreed too. The demands became unbearable and I had to tell her to cut me some slack. She made me feel guilty for telling her my salary and when it was paid because she would call to make a list of demands whenever she knew I had collected salary.

I kept on pushing, praying and hoping she would change. She came to see me just once at home during her holiday and she didn’t even stay long. She refused to kiss or hug me, she felt pressured to come and that was why she did. I wanted to talk to someone but I remembered what my mum said about third parties:

You don’t need a third party in your relationship. No matter the issue, find a way to solve it like a man.

Weeks went by and we resumed, it was my final year. I resumed with a CGPA of 3.65. I planned to be more focused because final year is the most delicate year. I had to look for another apartment for me and Emmanuel, she insisted she would be staying in the former one with Chichi. I tried seeing her but she would find a way to excuse herself even when I insisted on checking her in her apartment. I was losing my sanity so I opened up to Emmanuel. He advised me to calm down and promised to talk to her on my behalf. We saw twice before exams and it was so brief.

A week before exam, I called her and insisted she must see me. I was surprised I could talk to her with such tone. She promised to come to my apartment and she did. Before she came, I arranged my room, took my bath and cooked. I made sure we ate from the same plate then I talked to her. I reminded her of the past and the memories we had together, she cried at a point. I hugged her and kissed.

We were so deep in romance till she pushed me away. “I cannot do this, please I cannot.” She stood up and straightened her gown. I tried to get closer but she shunned me and looked away. She went to the window side and I followed her. “What is wrong Joy? Have I offended you? You have treated me like shit and I still love you. I have done everything a man should do for his woman”

She looked at me and suddenly laughed, I got confused. “You? Who says you are a man? See, I appreciate everything you have done for me but I don’t love you anymore.” It felt like a hammer landed on my head, I felt light and just sat on my bed.

"My parents are suffering to send me to school, I cannot settle for you because I am not sure if you will make it. I cannot suffer the way my mother is suffering with my father. I have found another guy and I believe we love each other. I pray one day you find someone to love you and be with you but me, Joy, I don’t want this relationship again. Take care of yourself and be good. Please, don’t send your friends to me and stop looking for me, you can ruin my relationship.” She went on and on and eventually left. I didn’t know when tears came down my eyes. I went flat on my bed and cried bitterly. I didn’t even know when Emmanuel came in. I explained everything to him with tears down my eyes and he comforted me.

image

I met Chichi days later and she apologized for not telling me about Joy’s new relationship, she said she has moved in with the guy; an MSC student in the school. I tried to be strong and took it all in. I couldn’t read well like I used to and it was the worst semester in the university. Emmanuel knew what I was going through and sat beside me in the examination to help me the best way he could. When results came out, it was just as I feared. My CGPA dropped to 3.3, second class lower.

To be honest, I don’t know how I managed to graduate with a second class upper, 3.6. Heaven knew what I was going through and eventually smiled on me. On my convocation day, she came around to congratulate me. She opened up my broken heart as I saw her entered the new guy’s car and drove off. I lost trust in love, I stopped watching romance movies or reading romance books. I would stay in my room all day, I became an introvert. The part of the breakup lines that got to me was:

My parents are suffering to send me to school, I cannot settle for you because I am not sure if you will make it. I cannot suffer the way my mother is suffering with my father.

I got over her during service year (NYSC). I met lot of people and friends. During the service year, I did so many professional exams and applied for jobs. I got employed a month after my service year. I worked there for 3 years till I started my own IT firm.

A year after, we got an international funding ($750, 000) from an IT firm in Canada. We had to move into a bigger company and employ more staffs. I employed an HR guy, Duke, to recruit capable staff. He recruited and submitted their forms in my office so he would present them to me the next day.

image

I could not go through the forms, I went home quickly to watch my favorite team, Arsenal, play. The next day, I randomly went through the files. Duke came in that it was time to bring them in. He brought in the new IT guys and introduced them properly. I gave them a pep talk and cracked them up with jokes. Then it was time to introduce the new cleaner. I checked the form and saw the name, I got stunned and looked up. Alas, it was Joy. She knelt down to greet me. I looked at her for seconds, I couldn’t believe my eyes.


All images source are from here.


This story continues.

Sort:  

Congratulations!,@imbigdee Your post has been upvoted by Reach Out, which is proudly sponsored by @eturnerx. Our goal is to support Nigerian minnows on Steemit. Join our discord group https://discord.gg/NWAkKfn

Benefactor : @bleepcoin

Curator On Duty: Richie, the Manual Bot

We invite you to the @eoscafe community [https://discord.gg/wdUnCdE]

Wow, what an interesting twist. I enjoyed every bit of it

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemainsarenacommunity trail. Our goal is to support minnows on steemit to help them grow. You can join our discord server here; https://discord.gg/AFNvk5z
You can support us by donating steem/sbd or delegating SP to steemainsarena trail to acknowledge our mission.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by imbigdee from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75