You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unproven Chapter Thirty Two "It's a Big Bad World Out There"

in #story6 years ago

This is so well written ... and Ary's character is developing in a deep way. However, I am still having trouble with the level of disconnect between a Nana who insists that young people come to the door to pick Ary up ... and a Nana who thinks it is ok for her to be absent for days at a time and that she is staying at a friend's house whose parent are gone for the summer.

Sort:  

Thank you. And...this is really bothering you, haha. Actually I've been avoiding saying this because it sounds silly- but the idea for her character came from my Uncle Willy. He's originally from Germany and I don't know if it's the culture there, or if it's just his family, but they have a unique parenting style. He was very, very strict with my cousins until they reached the age of 18, then it was a full 180, he went from really hands on to completely hands off. I was not the biggest fan of him as a child, my parents were easy going in comparison, but I love the man as an adult. From parental figure to peer, and it worked really well somehow.

It IS really bothering. LOL. I am loving the story ... and the character development. And the very accurate and real depiction of teen angst and lessons in confidence. And the relationship between Nana and Ary is the only aspect that seems unrealistic to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67701.44
ETH 3730.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69