How to be Light Vlog: How Discovering Buti Yoga and becoming a Certified Instructor is Transforming my Life

in #story7 years ago


This week in my first How to Be Light Vlog, I am sharing my experience with the practice of Buti Yoga- a high-intensity yoga and dance class that facilitates inner growth- and how it’s leading me to big transformations in my life.

Last year, right around this time in winter, I was losing hope that I might find a passion outside of my work through videography, which I had been immersed in since the age of 15. It’s not that I didn’t like it anymore, but it was ALL I did and I knew the excessive time spent behind a computer video editing wasn’t healthy.

What I wanted to find was both a movement practice and a group of friends that I would interact with regularly and ultimately build and grow with. I had tried a lot of different fitness routines, clubs, meet-ups, etc in the past year or so since moving to Asheville, NC and was starting to feel like it wouldn’t happen for me.

Despite these feelings, I kept my eyes open casually and eventually found a class called Buti Yoga at a local dance studio. Without any research, I showed up one Saturday morning and it instantly felt right. When I returned the next week to a second class, I left with new friends and a newfound passion.

What happened next was an acceleration of leaps and trust falls into the universe as I decided to become a Buti Yoga instructor. The positive changes I experienced allowed me to fulfill my desire to get off the computer and gave me so much more than I consciously asked for.

By following my excitement, I allowed myself to grow instead of staying stagnant and comfortable. One of my friends I met through Buti Yoga and I both declared within minutes of meeting that 2017 was “the year of the uncomfortable” and we have both come away from that year changed for the better!

Buti is an Indian Marathi word that means "a cure that has been hidden beneath the surface or kept secret." Buti Yoga has helped me connect with the deepest and often darkest parts of myself which has led me to sustainable transformation. Indeed, we all hold the sacred power to heal from the inside out!

If you feel compelled to find something more in life, something to activate greater joy from within, don't give up! Keep your eyes open and try new things! You never know what one small action can lead you to.

Love + Bliss!

Jenny


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Even when I dont feel like moving forward, I force myself to inch along at any pace faster than stop.

I love your gentle upbeat vibe!

I can certainly relate to what you say as I myself am feeling mouldy and the need to move more.

I am impressed with your commitment to become a teacher and wish you well on this exciting adventure.

I myself am an artist/writer/lightworker with much to say which I sense may be of interest to you. I invite you to pop by mine for a sniff around.

:)

Upvoted/Followed I look forward to getting to know you more over the coming months.

Be happy.

xox

Aw, thank you so much, that means a lot to me!

Knowing you can relate is also helpful to me as I will be putting up short yoga videos with the intent of helping people get some movement going, so def let's stay connected!

I am looking forward to learning more about you and heading over now!

Best,

Jenny

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50