Interview with Miriam

in #story5 years ago

Miriam Tierno Interview.jpeg

Did you know that Holy Language Institute is run by volunteers? This month we're celebrating Miriam Petra Tierno!

"How long have you been with HLI?"
Since 2017, so almost 3 years.

"Tell us about your volunteer work."
I filled many positions during those three years. I started as a Teaching Assistant (TA) Steward for the Moodle Hebrew Quest Program. As a TA, I made sure that students completed their assignments, according to established standards and in a timely manner. I assisted with the Hebrew Quest English to Spanish translations. I also had responsibility as the Educational Director, answering questions, guiding and making sure all students received their gifts and certificates. I was also responsible for preparing and posting the students' Leaderboard scores each month, on the Facebook Tribe. In addition, I created and posted short Modern Hebrew Emoji teaching videos, in the FB Tribe page. This year I am assisting in the Prayer and Counseling Ministry, continuing as Educational Director and continuing with the Leaderboard Scores. To sum this up, last year, I completed the Moodle Hebrew Quest Program and graduated with high honors. Wearing many hats was a lot of work and very challenging. As an ENFJ, I am still learning to take one day at a time and not try to be "jack of all trades and master of all!"

"Why did you volunteer? Was it what you expected?"
I felt the Lord lead me to assist HLI and learn Hebrew. I find the Hebrew language to be so fascinating and mysterious. No other language has so much meaning behind their letters and numbers.

"What have you learned and how have you grown from the experience?"
I can say that I made many friends and learned so much more about my Hebrew roots and learned to love Biblical Hebrew.

"We call our volunteers "stewards". What does it mean to you to be a steward?"
Be ready to serve and be a responsible person.

"Would you recommend volunteering? Why?"
I would only recommend volunteering to folks that have a compassion and desire to serve Hashem and be willing to work hard. Volunteering is not for the lazy folks. You want to give it your best, so Hashem can say “good and faithful servant” when you meet him in glory.

Miriam, thank you so much for your work serving our tribe. We love and appreciate you!

(Interested in volunteering? Learn more here: https://holylanguage.com/volunteer.html)

Sort:  

The Steem blockchain is currently being attacked by a central authority in order to take control of the witnesses. If you are not managing your witness votes, please consider setting @berniesanders as your witness voting proxy by clicking here to help restore the decentralization of Steem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60256.67
ETH 2327.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46