How Sex, Arrogance and the Herd Destroyed My Naval Career.

in #story8 years ago (edited)

The US Navy and the Need to Make Examples.

It was October 1994 in Brunswick, Maine. My squadron VP-26 was preparing for a six month deployment to Sigonella, Sicily where we were participating in the enforcement of the No-Fly Zone over Bosnia and Croatia. I was a young 20 years of age and still naive as they come.

This was a short turn around for us. We had only returned from Sicily 11 months earlier. Some were upset but I was happy to be leaving Maine. During that year I had met a fellow Hospital Corpsman who worked at the base clinic. She was the talk of the base but for some reason she decided to want me.

We hit it off during our EMT (Emergency Medical Tech) and EVOC (Emergency Vehicle Operating Course). She was hot, I was horny, why not. It quickly turned into me moving in with her. During the year of 1994 we had a great time. I was heavily involved in volleyball and softball. She would come along and cheer me on. It was nice getting this kind of attention.

She knew I had to deploy and since we were both sailors we understood that the relationship would not work. Well, at least I did. The break up was pretty easy for me but she was pissed! I even had one of those scenes where she threw my sea bag off the patio off the house. Yes, I know so cliche. I moved back to the base barracks but I forgot my Trek mountain bike in her basement, wtf.

So the next day at the clinic I found her in the staff break room, alone. I asked her nicely if I could stop by the house later that evening and pick up my bike. She quickly said no, so we had a little shouting match. Choice words were said and I called her a bitch. I stormed out of the clinic to head back to the squadron where I had to finish up packing our gear.

I walk into the squadron and the Command Master Chief who had an office next to the entrance called me in his office. He liked to call me Hilariouski and this time he did not call me that, I knew I was in trouble for something. He said, did you just call another corpsman a bitch? I thought wtf it just happened 20 minutes ago how does Master Chief know my personal problems. So I told him my side of the story. He said, "get back to work and not too worry too much about it".

Uh Oh, My Career is Going Down in Flames.

That is me on the far left in a Sicilian field that is being burned to prepare for new crops.

So I did, but a few days before leaving for Sicily I got word that I was being sent to XOI (Executive Officers Mast). You have heard of Captain's Mast but XOI is when you see the second guy in charge. Not any less serious believe me. I was told that it would not happen until we were in Sicily.

A few weeks later we are situated in Sicily and my stomach is in knots around the clock because I know the hammer is coming down on me. Recently the US Navy had the infamous TailHook scandal. Where a group of young women were sexually harassed by a bunch of fighter pilots. It was not a good time to be a man in the US Navy, we were being made examples of right and left.

So the day came where I had to stand in front of the XO with a bunch of people in the room. The XO went through the charge and let me tell my side of the story. He asked, "are you sorry". My arrogant ass said, "no sir, she deserved it for trying to steal my property". He quickly told me that I would be held back from making rank for 6 months. It was a pretty light sentence compared to my peers but it was still a squadron scandal nonetheless.

To me it was unbelievable how people behave in packs. Very few wanted to be associated with the black sheep. I felt alone except for my friend, Shawn, Alex and a few other airmen. We all came to the squadron at the same time and had a great friendship. They all knew that what happened was purely to make an example of me.

My Friend Shawn and I.

So that fateful day in October 1994, changed my life forever. If she never came into my life I might have never realized what a lie the justice system is. From that day forth I no longer respected the US Navy and the Officers put in charge. It was one of the incidents in my life that put me on the road to anarchism.

Pic from One of My Italy Deployments.

Sort:  

A blessing in disguise.

Great story Randy keep them coming! Great photos too

Thank you Doc!!

I'm sorry you had such a bad experience. As a former Naval Officer, I am disgusted by your treatment but have to admit that I've heard dozens of stories about similar incidents in the years after Tailhook.

It was like a disease spreading through the ranks.

Hey thank you for Your service!
@jerome-colley USN, vet , IS2, USS Saratoga.

Welcome Brother!! Glad to connect.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44