Why Being in my 70s Has Turned Out to be a Hoot

in #story7 years ago

The years I have been in my 70s have been filled with really great times. I'm writing this in case you aren't enthusiastic about the prospect of being old. Am I old? Nah, I figure that will hit at about 85.  After all, Grandma died in her sleep at home two days after her 100th birthday... But I know that a lot of people consider old age to start at a really young figure, like 60 or something.

So here I'll tell you just a few stories from my 70s. Here I am on my 70th birthday. (Photos by me or my husband or family)

I'd been coloring my hair for several years but I grew it out for this birthday and I've stayed gray since. My husband and I were living in a small town in Colorado which had been our home base for over 20 years (not counting 2005 to 2010 when we lived by Lake Chapala in Mexico). I put an ad in the local paper saying come to my birthday open house, and bring food for the food bank instead of gifts for me. It was  a good thing that my friend who ran the food bank came in her SUV, because we filled it up.

That birthday, I finally started writing a novel. I had written and published several nonfiction books before then, but my father was a highly regarded science fiction writer, Cordwainer Smith, and even though he died when I was in 20s, his reputation was still so great that I was hesitant to try fiction. But finally when I turned 70, I decided it didn't matter anymore! I wrote a cozy mystery:

And then two more in that series. But then I was tired of writing about murder and figuring out all the twists in the plots. So I stuck to blogging for a while, with my main site being about simple green living

Recently, with my 75th birthday fast approaching, I decided it was time to hit the memoir trail. I have a whole bunch of them to write. The one I'm doing now is about the summer I was in Sierra Leone, West Africa, on a workcamp with Operation Crossroads Africa. It's the second one in my series so I will write the first one soon and launch them together.

My sweet, funny, and very creative husband and I have been married over 45 years. Here's the love letter I wrote him last year. And here we are back in the day:

A couple of years ago we moved. Now we are making new friends and enjoying the rather alternative culture in Silver City, NM. It was quite a convoy to move from Colorado:

I wasn't driving... too much of a princess for that! (Well, actually, fatigue has always been a challenge.)

So discovering steemit last week is another step...

My advice? Just keep going!


Sort:  

Wow, just an incredible journey! Thank you so much for sharing. I have always been in the belief that "old age" would be wonderful, the way I figure it, every year I learn more, so why would I want to be young forever, and lose out on all the wisdom and knowledge? Why would I ever want to be that stupid again? AHHAHAA!! Blessings to you and your dear husband!

Reading this put a momentary smile on my face. Thanks :)

Congratulations @hereandthere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a fabulous post. You seem like your really living in the now and enjoying everything life's path has given you. I don't think this post of wisdom regarding old age will ever leave me. This was pure brilliance, Thank you.

Your birthday reminds me again of the freepotluck.org project I want to do. It would be a pay-way-you can or bring what you can (stone soupesque) thing. they extra food and money could go toward a community garden and kitchen...

You guys are cute! sweet looking couple :)

See you on the road!

It sounds like you've really got this "living" thing down, and you're enjoying the heck out of it. I applaud you. What an awesome and inspiring post.

Well, you got a follow from me. I LOVE not-old people who are well-traveled and write. I'm so happy to have come across your post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63241.83
ETH 3086.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82