You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Wild & Creepy Tenants - The Master of Survival & The Unstable Aviator

in #story8 years ago

I like craneflies! People often think they are giant mosquitoes. But they don't even have any working mouthparts as adults. And some only live a few days. They just mate and die. They have cool stabilizers on each side of their body, behind their wings. You can see that on the lower left of the last photo.

Sort:  

Yeah I see them. Thanks for telling me! :-)
They don't bite but they are quite a pest and can cause serious damage to crops when in larger numbers.

Yep, people don't like what the larvae do to the grass in their lawns. : ( But I still enjoy seeing them and those stabilizers.

I have to admit that I find your fascination interesting. Normally people are disgusted by bugs

I had a big insect collection as a kid. I entered it into the county 4-H fair and had it shown in different places. I spent many, many hours with insects. (I'm near-sighted, so maybe that helps, haha.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55885.64
ETH 2358.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31