Have an open mind.

in #story7 years ago

Hello, everyone. I just wanted to write a short little story about what happened in my class today that I found quite interesting and that I learned from. Well, in class you would think that you would just be reading, writing, or doing problems, but not in one of my classes I was in today. We spent the time learning about meditation from a guy that had been researching the topic. I know its a little weird but here is a little back ground. It was in my AP Psychology class, which if anyone doesn't know it is a college class that is taken in high school. In order to get credit you have to take the exam. After the exam basically there is nothing for you to do in the class because you have learned all the information that you needed to and finish all the exams required for the class. My teacher is a little different on some aspects like while most other AP teachers would have the students do projects, mine is bringing in other teachers. Well so thats what we did today we meditated.

I was quite skeptical at first, but after just allowing my mind to be open to it. I I realized that meditation is a great way to just stop for a minute and relax. I am not saying go and try to meditate for hours. Even just a minute to relax clear your head is a great thing because it allows you to forget everything that you are stressing about whether it is about money, school, or relationships for just a minute. From my short experience I notice that it was quite refreshing to let it all go and it felt like a weight was lifted of my shoulders that allowed me to gain back the energy that I spent stressing about the things. It allowed me to reroute it to something more positive and productive like being able to actually pay attention in my classes because of a lack of sleep or a long lecture. It allowed me to have a more open mind to what was happening around me even if it was for just a short time. I am not saying that now that this happened to me I am going to devote my life to meditation. I just find it cool to have learned something that I was quite skeptical about and to no know why others do spend their time getting to know this practice.

That is all for today.
I really am not sure what you guys want from what I post but for now it will be about really anything but if you want my opinion or thoughts about specific things just let me know and I will write about it. I would gladly write about anything because of my interest in pretty much all topics.
To everyone who reads this Thank You!
Good Bye and Have a nice day.

Sort:  

Hi Hannah,

Yeah Meditation is so relaxing.

Thank you for sharing your story!

Thanks for reading mine.

You could Edit your post and add the TAG

meditation

psychology

(just my 3cents)

Now I feel less stressed reading your post @hannahbanz2000

Keep STEEM N ON,
Frank

You have been PROMOTED FREE for using the "newcomers" TAG (hashtag)

https://steemit.com/promoted/newcomers

https://steemit.com/hot/steemit-health

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 56583.42
ETH 2984.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15