Into the Darkness

in #story7 years ago

We are trained pilots, we are trained to respond to the fear, to drown the sensation and the fear to die, even so I am afraid, I am afraid to enter the dark, to lose myself in it and not to leave.

When I was younger I thought that being a spacecraft pilot was the most brilliant job in the world, and for a moment it was, thinking that I could travel to the stars to know them, to look down to see the earth was something that left me simply without words. all children want to be astronauts.

the years passed and enter Aviation Academy, with the goal in mind of being pilot spaceships, there were moments where the goal is to more distant, but did not give up so easily i keep working to be the best pilot of the Air force and achieve it

But not all my dreams were fulfilled, space travel was no longer as prevalent as before, scarcely if the children of today knew that it was an astronaut, very few missions were launched and I was still looking at the sky with hopes To be there among the stars, to travel and be able to contemplate the obscure obscurity of listening to silence, to feel the forces of gravity acting on me, I have spent 15 years waiting for the moment that a mission comes out to become a candidate, I have so many desires To go to the space that could even go without any compensation

Nevertheless my longings seem distant, they only send drones to the space, satellites monitored and piloted from the ground, I can not be satisfied to gain the life driving an airplane to remote control excessively expensive, I desire and I long to enter the dark. But those days are behind, I've heard of a company that traveled to Mars, and I was assigned as a volunteer to fly that spacecraft, my job will not only consist of piloting the spacecraft, but I'll also be aware of the vital support systems For the settlers, this I will do with my 2nd in command, although I still do not know him a few days ago I was called from the company to start training.

Is curious how some are afraid of the launch, others worried about what may happen in the trip, my only fear is that something happens to me when I'm on the ground and I can not even put one foot in the cabin of the ship. Missing a few days for the launch and I can not do more than remember when I was a child and dreamed of this day, it seems so unreal that this few hours to go out into space.

Today is the day of the launch, I will follow this diary once I can already write I have to take the ship, to certain coordinates that I can not reveal, where artificial intelligence began to plan the best route to Mars.

I have been asleep for 6 months, in what my partner and I call deep sleep, artificial intelligence has had control of the ship during all this time, now we will be assisting it The immensity of space is incredible, it is indescribable that what separates me from the unknown and the ship are some centimeters of ship, the silence, the calm that is perceived outside the cabin is wonderful, although I have to admit that I am afraid.

I think that fear is normal, it is natural for humans to be afraid of what is hiding in the dark, but I can not help but think that if I fall into that emptiness, my body will be wandering in the immensity of space, in nothingness, It's scary the dark.

We are 3 years from our destiny, artificial intelligence has told us to go into deep sleep, when I have opportunity to write, of course, the doctors of the command center have recommended that I do this more often, to appreciate is good for the mental health

See you in 3 years

Images taken from

https://pixabay.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68779.72
ETH 3920.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64