The Name of The Wind - by Patrick Rothfuss

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I don’t usually write about books, because actually I don’t read much and it is really hard to describe my feeling on books or movies, but I like to push myself to do things I am not really good at. I read the most famous books like Animal Farm, The Little Prince, Of Mice and Men etc.., but I would rather do other stuff. So when my friend told me, that I have to read The Name of The Wind I didn’t want to. It took me a year to convice myself, but I am glad I did, because this book is freakin epic.

It is a fantasy book. That can be big "NO" for many people and I get it. For example I don’t like love stories. If I had to compare to something and this is really hard. I would say The Witcher. Because the story takes place in fiction world, but the world itself is quite like the one we live in. The world has typical medieval cities, vilages kingdoms and everything you would expect. However it has „magic“ and „monsters“ in it. The main protagonist is Kvothe and he tells his story about his life to an old chronicler. That can sound weird, but his life was/is very interesting. I really don’t want to spoil anything, so I won't talk about the plot anymore. The biggest issue some people can have, is the fact, that Patrick Rothfuss (author of the book) is sometimes telling you the most insignificant things for a very long time. However when you get past that, you will discover, that this is the most brilliant way to tell his story. Because you will get the feeling that everything is okay, but it actually is not. One of the most important part on fantasy is the world bulding and Patrick Rothfuss nailed it. He made up gods and legends and everything you would think of.

So whether you like reading or not it doesn’t matter you should try this book, but please try to not quit after few pages. This is the thing you have to stay with for a long time before quiting, to fully understand its charm.


Thanks for reading and please, let me know what you think down in the comments, because I want to know what you think about the book or about my little article.

Sort:  

Hi! I am currently reading The Wise Man's Fear and so far, everything is still very exciting. I actually agree with you and some people's issue about Patrick Rothfuss' tendency to drag unimportant things. I am new here on steemit and I'm glad to have found something that shares my interest :)

Hi! Yea he always drag little details as far as he can and the big things are written in few words :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66739.21
ETH 2594.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70