The Good Cobra

in #story7 years ago

Back in Umudu Village in Southern Nigeria, the early rains are accompanied by the cool breeze. That is long anticipated, after the many hot nights of the dry season.

After the rains, the moonlit night casts eerie shadows from palm trees whose fronds rustle in the crisp night air. The rainfall softens the parched earth and wakes up the snails from its season-long slumber.

Source
As the night breeze caresses the landscape, giant snails creep out. Folks, mostly women, and children, armed with hurricane lanterns and battery powered lamps, comb the nearby bushes in search of these snails which are delicacies.

I trudged with my group around the nearby bushes, to the thump, thumps of snails landing in buckets while my own was silent. I had found none. Unfortunately, the moonlit sky was getting darkened signaling an imminent rainfall.

I noticed a small movement out of the corner of my eye. I pointed the torch towards the direction of the movement and it stopped. I waited because I was sure there has to be something there. Again, I noticed the movement but this time I caught the cause. It was a small mottled cobra. It stood still with its head raised in the characteristic fashion of cobras, gently swaying. The eyes caught on the torch beam were like a well-fanned charcoal fire. It froze, partly disoriented by the sudden intrusion to its nocturnal movement. Then my reflex kicked in.

Suddenly, I leaped backward, my heart pounding, my face hot and faint. The two snail hunters walking close by noticed my sudden movement and in alarm asked me what was the matter. That was the moment a mischievous thought flashed through my mind. I shouted that I saw a ghost. The plan was to strike some fear in my fellow snail hunters. After all, it adds to the fun in the adventure. But I was surprised at the outcome of my little scare prank.

The words were barely out of my mouth when the two boys echoed it and started running out of the bush. There were pandemonium and frightened cries.
Everyone was running out of the bush for dear life while I, the architect, watched with a mischievous grin. Many threw off their buckets of snails and ran for dear life.

Within minutes the whole forest was as quiet as a graveyard. But I am used to going around alone at night. I moved a bit away from where the snake was and picked my fill of the abandoned snails which was too heavy for my small self. I had the cobra to thank for my good fortunes.


Thank you for coming to my blog. You make my day awesome. I would appreciate a resteem if you find the original story interesting.

Sort:  

That was a story. I can see them all running away. The glow of the lantern in the snake's eyes, you are a true writer.

Thank you so much for the compliments.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61593.58
ETH 2950.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.49