Like a Flash in the Pan (True Story)

in #story7 years ago (edited)

Growing up was one of the exciting times of my life. No one should deny their child a great childhood not if they could help it. I know many have their children's innocence taken away by circumstances such as parent's messy divorce, death, imprisonment, etc.

While some kids had their childhood taken away due to circumstances surrounding their upbringing. A prime example is the late King of Pop(Michael Jackson) who never really enjoyed his childhood.

I watched one of his interviews when he said as a kid he was being driven to a show in Las Vegas and he saw his name and picture on huge billboards then moments later saw some kids playing in a park. He just wished, more than anything in the world at that moment, that he was one of those kids. But I bet the kids in the park may want to trade his place without knowing they are just having the best moments of life.

I did not grow up in a rich family, but we get by. Money should not be an excuse for not giving your child the best experience they could get as a child. Some of my best moments are moments that had nothing to do with money or things relating to it. It was just the pure joy of being able to be a child. Imagine having no cares in the world. Yeah, I do have needs, for example, I once wanted a baby lion as a pet after watching Tarzan. I don't know if that counts for anything. But in my world then, Dad, is the greatest man ever lived. He could perform wonders just by being Dad.



Source


So need a baby lion? Just wait till my Dad returns. Want money to buy out half the street? Wait till my Dad returns. Or is it that bully in school that beats up all the tiny kids in school? Wait till I tell Dad and he would be down for the greatest ass whooping of his life! Life was that simple in a child's paradise. My Dad, true to nature, never spoilt this illusion of being King of Earth. He played along. I hear nowadays people tell kids Santa Claus is not real and the tooth fairy is just a figment of their imagination. I suggest such people should all be imprisoned and locked away for life. Crime? Taking away the joys of childhood!

During the school's break, on rare occasions, my Dad allows us to travel to a relative's house for holidays. This is usually after using every manipulation known to a 9-year old. You know the tantrums, the 24-hour getting on mom's side to get to change Dad's stance on no-holiday-away-from-the-house etc. Already, at that age, we know Mom can make Dad do things he would not ordinarily do! She's a powerful ally and we try as much as possible to exploit this useful loophole! So Mom, using her power, was able to make dad see reason. He grudgingly allowed us to travel. The school's holidays was for 4 weeks. It took 3 weeks to convince him to let us go. So, on the fourth week, it happened. We have a whole seven days free to do as we wished. That is freedom!

I opted to visit my Aunt, my Dad's immediate younger sister that lives a state away. She is a nurse, had always been one as I can't remember seeing her not being one. It was going to be fun to be staying the next seven days at her place. We started our day by going to the stream. Getting down the very steep slope to where the water is was always a move for the nimble ones. But I was surprised to see older ladies, in their sixties, negotiating these slopes with gallons of water balanced precariously on their head. Nothing could beat the practice and experience of the number of years they must have done it to be able to do it now. Truly, the aged woman is not old in the dance that she knows!

Later, in the day, my cousins said the community teachers were organizing a quiz competition with a lot of side attraction and prizes to be won. Well, I wasn't doing anything at home, I may just as well go and see the intelligent ones answer questions. We arrived the venue and I saw the large turnout of people. I was expecting a small gathering, but the hall was packed full with the competitors sitting opposite the judges who were made up of retired teachers and serving ones. It was an intimidating presence.

A question is asked and if the competitors do not know it a bonus was thrown to the audience. Anyone in the audience that knows it signifies by raising their hands. The judge would randomly pick a person who comes to the podium and take the microphone and provide the answer. If correct the whole audience cheers for him. If wrong you get booed. It was a weird setup and I was enjoying it at the back. Most times six or seven hands are up. Each straining his to be the highest so the judge would call them to answer the bonus question.

Finally, the judge asked the final question. It was about idioms in English. The competitors did not know it. As it was customary the question was thrown to the crowd. No one raised his hand in the crowd. The judge repeated, "Is there no one from the audience?" We all looked around for that person that could answer it. No one signified. Out of reflex I raised my hand and brought it down quickly when I realized I would be called to the front amidst all those eyes and people. But it was too late. One of the judges has already seen it. "Yes, young boy, the one in white shirt, step forward and show these pupils how it's done"

Wow, I was the only one wearing white at the back. I had to go. On reaching the platform I made him repeat the question. He said, " What is the meaning of Dutch courage?"

Yes, I heard it right the first time, just wanted to be sure. I answered, "It was the courage obtained from drinking alcohol." You could hear a pin drop as I passed the microphone back to the quiz judge. He picked it and said, " That is correct!" A thunderous cheer erupted in the hall. I felt like a king. I was able to get this answer correctly as I just came across the phrase in a book at my aunt's place just yesterday. I started to walk back to where I was and was called back to pick my prize.



It was wrapped. I couldn't wait to get home to see what it was. I got home and opened it and it was a glass cup. Oh well. It could have been a piece of stone and I would still be ok with it!

Sidenote: I never once made use of this cup. It ended up being smashed by my half-brother. It felt like he smashed my $1m prized property :)

Do you have a memorable moment as a child? Let's hear it in the comment section below.




What do you think? Please, I value feedback, do leave me one on the comment section below.

Special thanks to @xervantes for the badge
Thank you for visiting my blog.

Regards,
@greenrun ... still running :)

Sort:  

Little things matters to children, but some persons deny them that, I am an only son and as a Nigerian being the only male child comes with a lot of pampering.
My dad would always come to pick me and my siblings after school as we went to a private school, on the way home I'd see children trekking home playing as they went and I wished I was among them
One fateful day my dad didn't come around on time to pick us and I managed to slip away unnoticed, boy the joy and liberty I felt trekking home alone kicking every orange and any other thing that had a circular shape that I saw on the road was second to none.
It was indeed a great experience.

Nothing replaces that freedom to be a child. Thanks a lot for stopping by. I do appreciate it.

People tend to think it is only things that money can buy that makes kids happy. I remember when my Mom got her new refrigerator. Do you have any idea how big a box it comes in, do you remember how really really big that box looks when you are ten years old. We had so much fun with that box. And it was free.

We do a lot of plays with the empty cartons of electronics. That styrofoam that comes with new products are what we used in making gum which we used to bind our books. We pour petrol on it and it melts to form gum! Good time. Beautiful memories :)

Congratulations @greenrun! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hola friend, whats your twitter handle?

Twitter sucks. But would set one up :)

lol. hahaha. that will be good. Someone asked of your twitter acct anyway.

chat me on steemit chat. same username

That is a wrong notion really. You should try it out.

I've signed up already. Let's see the magic.

I guess mine would be when I went for a bible recitation quiz. I managed to make it into the final three contestant. And the whole show became bloody.

I was reeling off mighthy and long quotations from the Bible which I learnt from my father then during morning devotions. However, I had a slip and came 1st runner up.

My greatest compensation came, when a member of the audience decided to reward me with a gift for my efforts. He said I could have won, if I had not stuttered when it came to my turn.

I didn't win the Grand Prize, but I went home most fulfilling that all contestant that day.
Great work @greenrun.

Great experience I must say. Thanks for sharing your childhood experience, some moments just sticks to our memories for the rest of our lives!

Sure they do. Thanks for sharing yours too

You welcome boss

Beautiful thoughts, well written. All I seem to think about these days are events of my childhood. They seem like the most special times I've had too.

Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65