My rough journey as a teacher - Part 3

in #story5 years ago

Image source

The combined school where I taught really opened my eyes.  I learned more about different religions and it opened my eyes to different cultures.  South Africa is not called the rainbow nation for nothing.  I enjoyed my time at the school despite the religious issues.  My focus was on the children and I wasn't there to win awards but to make a difference in children's lives.  

I still have contact with a few students from that time, and I knew I didn't just make a difference in their lives, but they changed my life as well. I am far more open minded after that experience and I learned things that I will remember for the rest of my life.  

I received a call from the school where my father was principal for many years, and they offered me a post.  My father always believed that family should never work together, so even though I previously tried to get in, I never did.  I knew most of the teachers at this school and I was extremely happy for this opportunity.  I grabbed it with open arms and started teaching there within a month.  

It was a totally new experience for me as I was now at a school where I knew most of the people and they knew me. It felt like I came home.  For the first time in many many years, there were no issues, and I could focus on myself as a teacher and didn't have to worry about saying something that might offend someone or their religion.  

The best of all was that my own kids were in the school so I had them with me the whole day. After school I didn't have to rush to fetch my kids as they were used to sitting in my class doing their homework. 

I really enjoyed teaching there and build a lot of relationships with parents and teachers and kids.  It is a time in my life that I will never forget and I will cherish forever.  Unfortunately after eight years teaching there, we had to move as my husband was transferred and I tried everything in my power to get a post where we moved to.  

At first we decided that I was going to take a year off teaching to settle in to our new environment, but it seemed as if I am not the housewife type and I felt absolutely lost.  I was bored out of my mind and I couldn't stand not working.  I decided to try a few different options and applied for non- teaching jobs in the area, but there was nothing I was interested in.  I found an online school and applied there.  I went for an interview and I got the job.  Teaching is in my blood, and this is where I belong.  

I am quite fond of the school where I work now, and I have the freedom to work my own hours, but I still have direct contact with the kids via an online class.  Believe it or not but even though these kids should only count as virtual students because they don't sit in front of me, but they are so much more! I have a personal relationship with most of the students, and I love them dearly.  

I know that I am in the right place in my life, and I am exactly where I am supposed to be.  Life has a way of preparing us and shoving us into places where we are needed most, and I believe that I cannot be in a better place right now.      

 

 Animated Banner Created By @zord189 

  

Sort:  

Getting to know children in a classroom or online I am sure you get to know them in no time at all.

How many more children you are able to assist grow in knowledge, it is a wonderful way to reach rural areas.

You are relaxed the children are comfortable, no interference, it must be a rewarding experience @giantbear

It really is a rewarding experience at this time. Online or not online, children are children and I have closer relationships with people online than with people in the real world. Who would've thought that this was even possible?

"Be yourself", personally I think children will say what they want to actually say online, not being embarrassed by possible economic differences playing out in their lives.

Parents will be happier not having children not commute in modern society, having to use questionable school facilities, classrooms filled to capacity.

Yes, I think it is worth expanding online teaching due to many factors, you can guide young minds you cannot make them learn. The same questioning minds will be more at ease to ask questions without reproach.

Congratulations @giantbear! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1000 posts. Your next target is to reach 1100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @giantbear!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.304 which ranks you at #786 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 95 contributions, your post is ranked at #16.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

The kids that you teach are very blessed to have someone who has a love for teaching! Thanks for sharing your journey.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is very difficult to treat or teach kids out off religion issues, because especially when teach them ethical principles or social values you may be affected by your religion and these principles and values do not belong to their beliefs.

Posted using Partiko Android

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @giantbear, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64081.52
ETH 3398.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62