Have you ever literally walked in someone else's shoes?

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Today after school I had to rush for an appointment in a town close-by. To be honest I'm always in a hurry when driving but I absolutely love driving because it gives me time to think. I have not been feeling well these last few days so I was a little bit more irritated than usual. To top things off, when I climbed out of the car after I reached my destination my shoe broke and I literally had to walk into the doctor's office with only one shoe on.  Mind you it was old shoes, but it was actually my most comfortable pair of shoes, and it fit with most of my clothes.  

While walking into the hospital, people were staring at me and I just didn't care. My main goal was to get to the doctor's office and nothing was going to stop me.  

         

I explained the bizarre situation and everybody in reception just laughed, and it didn't really looked as if it bothered anyone.  After I finished I took of my other shoe and walked out barefoot. I was still not feeling well, so it didn't bother me at all, in fact I felt more comfortable because I am used to walking barefoot.  

The mall was just across the road from the hospital so I drove there to go and buy me a new pair of shoes. One thing I hate more than buying a bra, is buying shoes.  I liked my old shoes, and I was looking for something similar and as comfortable as my old shoes...needless to say it was a very painful experience. No new shoe is ever comfortable! I paid for the shoes, and obviously walked out with the pair of shoes.  

       

I had to walk at least 300 meters to get back to my car, and by the time I reached my car I literally wanted to throw away the new pair of expensive leather shoes, but I know in time it will stretch out and I just have to push through the first week!

These new shoes made me feel as if I was walking in someone else's shoes! 

Do you remember when we were small kids we always played dress up and always wore adult shoes in the game. Those tiny feet walking in high heel shoes, but we wanted to be smart so we walked proudly even though it was the most uncomfortable thing ever but we didn't care and refused to take off the shoes. 

          

Then later in life, when we started to grow up, shoes were passed on from brother to sister or vica versa. If the shoes fit, then you had to wear it.  Shoes were expensive and if they still looked good, then it was a sure thing that you would become the owner of the "old" pair of shoes, and you would wear them without a peep, because if you didn't you had to walk barefoot. It was your choice. 

What an awful experience to wear someone else's shoes! 

This whole experience today made me think about the time when I was a teacher in a small town in a farming community. The school where I taught was on a farm, and the kids in the school all came from parents who worked on the farms.  

These people had nothing, they were poor as church-mice, and they literally did not even have proper clothes to wear to school. It was mostly hand me downs and the shoes were the worst. In summer it was fine, because they walked barefoot, but in winter these poor kids suffered like crazy.  Some of them wore shoes that were two numbers too large, and some wore shoes that were definitely way too small. Even if they squashed their feet into those tiny shoes they didn't care because at least their feet were warm. It was all they had to wear. 

Today's experience made me feel grateful because I had the opportunity to go and buy new shoes. I did not have to wear someone's hand me downs or shoes that were too big or too small, I could buy shoes that I liked, and even though they might still be tight, one of these days they will be my favorite pair of shoes again.  

  

Image source 1

Image source 2

Image source 3

Image source 4

Sort:  

I see you take priority in creating a good image of yourself. A wise man once said "It takes 20 years to build a reputation and five minutes to ruin it." Keep up the

Hope you feel better soon

A friend of mine was in a bar next door to a popular night club once. He got chatting to celebrity who, surprisingly, he seemed to get on really well with. She invited him to meet up with her and some friends in the VIP area of the club for drinks later on. Obviously he was really excited as he somewhat idolised this celebrity. Unfortunately he was wearing trainers, and after queuing to get into the club for 20 minutes the door staff refused to let him in saying "You're not coming in in those trainers mate". He ran back into the bar and begged me to swap my shoes for his trainers so that he could go and meet this celebrity, rather reluctantly I agreed as I was going home anyway. So I put on his smelly trainers and lent him my nice leather soled shoes. The story however does not end here.
He queued up for another 30 minutes as it was getting busy and it was a popular night spot only to reach the front of the queue and have the doorman say "You're not coming in in those trousers mate!". He gave up sadly and never saw the celebrity again. If you knew my calamitous friend you would know why I found this highly amusing after having to wear his smelly trainers for the rest of the evening!

I'm so sorry to hear you haven't been feeling good. I hope the doctors visit helps you get better soon. I had a similar experience. I went to a festival with my husband and baby. My husband went off and I was left alone. I bought a few things so I had my arms full of baby and shopping bags...then my shoe broke. Had to walk around the festival looking for my husband with a limp trying to keep my broken shoe from falling off. I was so mad. I usually wear a pair of shoes til they fall apart literally. That's a good lesson to learn. It's good to recognize when we are lucky.

I have had a bad kidney infection for the last few weeks. Haven't slept properly in ages. Going to hospital tomorrow so will hopefully resolve this issue. I also have plenty of shoes, but I tend to pick one pair and then wear it with everything! I am so sad about my shoe but to be honest it was really time for a new pair. I also usually wear a pair of shoes til they fall apart literally.....and they did....lol

Feel better! I remember having a bad kidney infection a while back. It screwed up my whole body. My hands swelled so much I couldn't bend my fingers at times. Took 3 days in the hospital getting antibiotics to clear it up. Hope the hospital visit helped and I hope those new shoes are fitting nicely.

I started off the year with the intention to cultivate an attitude of gratitude. But it's amazing how quickly we forget. Thanks for the reminder about how lucky we are. (Hope you're feeling better soon.)

I just realized yesterday that I should be more grateful for what I have. I have really been sick this last three weeks. Going to hospital tomorrow so they can check me out and hopefully this issue will be resolved soon.

Oh just found this reply. How did you go at the hospital? Any idea what caused it, and what they can do about it?

Wao

Refreshing
I was really thinking about myself and how I see to wish am somebody else but them I realize we have different sizes

Today for sharing

Yes, I had the opportunities in past to buy a pair of the shoes and they were just awful. Funny whenever some of my friends bought something if I follow the recommendation everything was perfect. Otherwise I usually get 10 blisters before the noon in the new ones...

tears fall :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64320.49
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54