The Stroll (part 1)

in #story6 years ago

image

There is a saying in my home town that "20 children can't remain friends for 20 years", i always thought of it like those who believe in it doesn't really know how friendship really works, not until i clocked 23 years of age and looked back to check how many of my numerous childhood friends i have remained in contact with, you will be surprised at how many i had left at the time, None.

It was in the year 2005, when after getting home from school for vacation, it was a new apartment my parents just moved into in a new neighbourhood, everything was new as i was also new to the area, i stayed-in most of the time, i had no friends around but i still coped since i had a mobile phone and i had numerous games to choose from, movies and music were my companion while everyone got somewhere to go, at first i was okay with staying locked up indoors but at some point in time i got the urge to explore the environment around me but i felt reluctant not because I'm new but because i do feel nervous while meeting new people.

At my previous neighbourhood, i was so used to going out and mingling with my friends because we grew up together, friendship and cordial relationship for me out there started while i was an infant so i was so free with everyone around most especially Tina my closest friend, she would call me 'BT' most of the time as my name is Beatrice, we had almost everything in common, from the pointed nose, long nails, dark skin to the curved hips down to the long legs, oh! I miss her too bad, we hung out most times at a park about 2 blocks away, we talk about almost everything including guys matters, most especially those who asked us out on a date and obviously messed up the outing, i think we can converse only on phone calls or text messages, and sometimes visits.

As i sat there thinking all alone, i remembered that i wanted to check out the neighbourhood, but now i miss my friend and that might trigger a need to talk to someone while strolling in explore of the area, i should be careful not to fall into bad company.

image

After thinking for about half an hour, i heard a knock on the door, "who is that?" i asked walking towards the door, it was the janitor, he came to fix the licking pipe in my dad's bathroom so i had to stay in the house as he worked, it took him about 2 hours to fix it and at the time he finished his work it was too sunny so i couldn't go out anymore until evening, all i can do is to read a novel i got from max, my classmate, i had promised him i will complete reading it and return it back to him in 2 weeks time when we resume.

It was quarter past 4pm when my dad came back from work, i didn't know time has gone that far as i was immersed in the novel i was reading, it was a romantic novel how won't i be carried away? Lol, "my darling Beatrice" dad greeted and i hugged him, "welcome dad" i responded collecting his briefcase and the shopping bag he held in his left hand, we talked for a while, i told him about the janitor, i shared the memories of the past school period with him and we laughed about almost everything we talked about, it occurred to me that i haven't seen Nosa, my younger sibling and the last child of the house so i asked after him and dad told that he had gone on a 5 weeks trip with his cricket team for a tournament, i never knew he still played cricket, good for him i guess as long as he has passion for it, he should go for it.

With dad around, mom should be home soon i thought after serving him food from the microwave, "that means I'd have to postpone the stroll till tomorrow or the day after" i said to myself, it didn't take long before mom arrived from work too, her blouse was stained with chalk dust, I'm not surprised since she is a teacher afterall. "Hope Theodora still stays in touch" i asked her, "she does but not often because she got a job 2 months after the wedding and also she is pregnant at the moment" she responded, Theodora is my elder sister, she got married the same year i gained admission into Michigan State University.


I hope you enjoyed the first part of this intriguing story, keep your fingers crossed in expectation of many activities yet to unfold in subsequent parts.

Thanks for reading...


All images were generated from Google Images and the first one, i edited it myself.
Sort:  

Wonderful story bro, I'd like to know what happens next :)

Upvoted on behalf of @thehumanbot and it's allies for writing this great original content. Do not use bid bots for at least 1-2 days, as your post may get picked up by top curators.
Great Original Works are rewarded by top Curators, refer posts from my Step-Brother @humanbot for more details.If you like this initiative, you can follow me in SteemAuto and upvote the posts, that I upvote.
And remember to do some charity when you are rich by contributing to me. Check out my Introduction Post for more details. If you have any concerns or feedback with my way of operation, raise it with @sanmi , my operator who is freaking in Steemit chat or discord most of the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86