✈✍ Real life story: My first drone flight in the nature, a disaster fall in the water! 😄💧

in #story8 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemit-Community and Blog-Readers, in this article I want to tell you a true real life story of my first flight with a new drone in the nature.

I bought this beginner drone here some months ago:

 photo IMAG0632_zps3o7dfcbc.jpg

 photo IMAG0635_zpsyae6xn55.jpg  photo IMAG0634_zpsaae0mjdz.jpg


*Product Placement
Here you can find the drone at Amazon:
GOOLRC T5W Drone Wifi FPV Live Übertragung 0.3MP Kamera RC Quadrocopter mit Home-Return Headless-Modus 360 ° Flips Funktion

Here you can find a single compensatory battery for the GOOLRC T5 Drone:
Click here to a single compensatory battery at amazon!

Here you can find compensatory battery bundle of 5 batteries:
GoolRC Ersatzakku 5Pcs 3.7V 650mAh Lipo Akku für SYMA X5C X5C-1 X5 JJRC H5C RC Quadrocopter Drohne


 photo IMAG0633_zps1ke0angr.jpg

After I experienced to fly with it some weeks in my flat and I passed many own challenges, for example landing on precise positions accurately many times and making air flips without crashes, I decided to make the first flight in the nature. And it started: I packed up everything and I driven off to my mother´s home, where I thought there is a nice place to test the drone in the nature. I also wanted to make a photo of the lake close to her home with the drone, which have a little camera. (Not good quality, but ok for only playing a little bit with it.) You can connect the drone to your smartphone to make pictures and watch through the camera while flying with it. I thought this is a really great idea and I went to the lake. Firstly I only tried some little flight exercises at the lake and while the exercises I actually already noticed that it was difficult for the light drone to arrive against the strong wind... 😅 But nevertheless I wanted to make this picture of the lake from above! 😠

So I started the smartphone drone app and I have flown very high upwards with the drone. I only watched on my smartphone to check when is the best time to make the photo and after I have made the first picture, I have noted that the drone was already above the lake and if it will fall down in this moment, it will fall into the water... 😕

Here is the photo I took in this moment with the drone camera:

 photo IMG_10_zpsdbmcy3ut.png

For comparison, that you can see it was already very high upwards, here is a photo with my smartphone from the ground, where you can compare that there is already no ground under the drone too:

 photo IMAG0604_zpslhy86sds.jpg

I thought "F&ck", hopefully I can fly the drone back, but even in this moment the wind still also changed the direction and has become stronger. 😣 I treid my best to navigate the drone back to me, but this drone is really very light and had no chance against the wind... 😱 In addition the wind still pressed the drone to the left behind the tree, so that I have not seen it any more and after I have run to another place, where I may could see the drone again, it was already away. 😤 Im sure it landed in the water 💧, because there was no ground under the drone and I searched the drone at the neighbor property, the tree and even with a surfboard in the water. But I did´t found it and I think it was because the light drone disappear very fast in water, because of the hollow interior. It was a very bad idea to fly with this light drone close to a lake, on a day with a little bit stronger wind and that´s why I wanted to share my story with you. We learned: Never use light drones close to lakes and on days with wind! 😂


Better use a drone like this one here for flights in nature and if you want to make high quality photos for your blogs:



Link to the Phantom 3 Drone Standart.

Link to the Phantom 4 Drone.

At the website you can find many more different high professional drones.


Here you can visit the german version of this article too: https://steemit.com/deutsch/@future24/echte-geschichte-mein-erster-drohnen-flug-in-der-natur-ein-katastrophaler-fall-ins-wasser

I hope you enjoyed this article and have a nice day/evening!

Jonas Ahrens

Sort:  

Yes it was not the best idea to fly at this day... 😁

Always sad to hear about a drone death :(

What lake was it you were flying at?

I can vouch for the phantoms... they should be good in wind up to 30mph.

+1 vote to try and help over your losses (sorry I am no whale)!!

Thank you! 😊 It was at the "Heiligensee" here in Berlin. (In english the name would be "Holy-lake")

You have beautiful lakes over there in Germany. I had the pleasure of flying above one once... on my way to Poland and got this shot:

I believe the lake was called Schweriner See which is fairly close to you I think. :)

Wow, great shot and your blog is really nice!
-followed, upvoted and re-steemit (reblogged) your latest article

Sad but fun and funny story Jonas! :) You will get another drone I'm certain!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44