Captain Mick’s Boat - A Child's Bedtime Story - (PowerHouseCreatives Contest)

in #story5 years ago


Captain Mick’s Boat

We’re going on a trip. We’re going on a trip with Captain Mick on his magical boat!

Captain Mick will take us to places that are found in our dreams, because he has a special compass to tell him how to get there. First, we will sail as the boat rocks from side to side on a nice long trip to the island of the talking giraffes. They will tell us what it’s like to be a giraffe!

As we lean this way and that way swaying, we get close enough to the island to hear giraffes saying, “Hey, it’s Captain Mick!” Captain Mick says, “Hello my friends, the talking giraffes. How are you this day? Have you had cause for laughs?”

“We are fine Captain Mick. We are glad for your visit. We eat leaves on trees. Our necks are so long we can do it with ease.”

Next, Captain Mick sails into the bay, where the dolphins will whistle and show how they play.

When the dolphins saw it was Captain Mick’s boat, they stood up and whistled and did a back float. They perform a ballet doing tricks while they play, and they’re very friendly to us every day. They’re also very smart and they talk to each other, in their own language, taught to them by their mother.


Off to our next stop, it’s the beach with the turtles, which aren’t in a hurry. Living life slow, they don’t have a worry.

The turtles always keep plodding along. With their shell to protect them, not much can go wrong.





Next on the list, the uncharted atoll, where the many sea birds live and search every day; for food to eat there in the sea, or something you’re eating they may steal away.

Seagulls are known for stealing from us. If we don’t pay attention, we should not make a fuss.






We see seals and sea lions, sunning on shore, they look so peaceful and they’re sleepy, I’m sure.

Now Captain Mick’s boat will sway side to side, once again as we all take the long return ride; back past the seabirds, and where turtles don’t hide; back past the dolphins whistling a song and all the giraffes whose necks are so long.

Captain Mick’s boat slides up to the dock. It’s time to sleep now - this I see on the clock.

Captain Mick’s Boat © free-reign 2019

Sources for images used in this post:

Boat: Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay
Giraffe: Image by PixEasy from Pixabay
Dolphins: Image by Dmitry Abramov from Pixabay
Turtles: Image by Dmitry Abramov from Pixabay
Pelican: Image by Clker-Free-Vector-Images from Pixabay
Seal: Image by Merio from Pixabay


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

I have to say, this is really a great example of crediting for the photos you used. We at @steemterminal are always looking for great examples.
Ren

Thank you! I think attribution for the pictures (and anything else we "borrow") deserve to be displayed prominently, since they are so important to the message we're trying to put out there. Someone was kind enough to go through the trouble of providing them for our free use, so it's the least we can do.

Exactly. Love that you do it. So appreciate you.
Ren

This is such a sweet and charming story! Bravo! 🙌 I am tagging: @enginewitty and @katrina-ariel so they have a new story to read to their precious children! 😊

Thank you so much @thekittygirl for your wonderful comment, and for liking my story so much! :)



Hello, @free-reign.

The Talent Club is a space of mutual collaboration, with reserved admission right, which puts the club's account at the service of its members and which grants them more than a 1500% daily benefit.

We are constantly looking for talented users to offer them the possibility to enjoy our advantages.

Currently we are more than 90 members and we help more than 10 different projects, having a total amount of more than 60.000SP, with our own trail.

If you want to know more about how we work and be able to access the club, come by our Discord server, without any commitment.

Regards.


Thank you so much!

Captain Mick sounds like a hoot, hope one day he sways my way.

Loved this story, it's very catchy and would indeed make for a nice children book.

#pypt brought me here.

Thank you for reading, and also for your very nice comment on the story, @ange.nkuru. I also love your rhyme, "Captain Mick sounds like a hoot, hope one day he sways my way." :)

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you Inner Blocks and @thekittygirl!

Love this contest and the found images we’re so cool with the story @zord189 you have a difficult task

I'm pretty happy with the images from pixabay also! I had my doubts I'd find them all. It was a bit difficult finding the turtles. I don't know how many pages I went through until I found the one I used, which I think is really cute. Thank you for reading!

Delightful bedtime story, teaching a little about each animal encountered along the way @free-reign

Thank you @joanstewart, I think this was the most difficult writing project I've taken on so far!

Wow @free-reign! Wonderful bedtime story. Love how the animals are included.. Upped & resteemed.

Thank you @redheadpei, I thought it would be easy but then I was stumped for a good part of the week. I'm grateful the idea finally came to me, and really happy with the story and how it turned out. Thanks for the resteem!

Great story! Easy and fun to read. I could easily see that being a book with bright pictures on each page.

Thanks! First time for me, writing a kid's story. It took me quite a while to come up with the Captain Mick theme, and I actually almost gave up writing for this contest, this week. Once I thought of Captain Mick and found the pics I'd need, it went together nicely.

I think I'll use this translation to read it to my son before going to sleep, I really liked it!

If you did read it to your son, I hope he liked it and that it gave him sweet dreams! Thank you for the lovely comment. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36