Diary of a University Student 3

in #story6 years ago

Hey guys, so I'm sorry this is coming now, been a little busy so I couldn't post this sooner. I'll try and be more consistent from now on.


Diary of a University Student pt 3


I got to Uniport at about 12pm that day. The place looked even rowdier than it did the first time I went there. My first instinct was to call Ekom which I did, but unfortunately her phone was switched off. I was basically clueless as to what to do and my old man had left me in school all by myself because he had to go to work, so this hurdle was something I had to overcome by myself. I think the blank and confused look on my face was a dead give away as to what level I was in, so much so that other freshmen or freshers as we’re called in uniport started approaching me and eventually we became ten strong. Together we started the long and arduous process of registration and clearance, which saw us visit each of uniports three campuses at least twice that day and we were still nowhere near close to being done with it.

I made a couple of new friends that day, Joshua, Peter and Jennifer, and the three of them were nothing alike. Joshua was an Igbo chap from Anambra like me, he was tall and dark with a muscular physique, while Peter was a short and dark scrawny looking Yoruba boy all the way from the ancient city of Ibadan. Jennifer on the other hand was a light skinned Akwa ibom girl with enough drive to make every uniport student graduate with a first class. The four of us formed a clique that day and we took on everything uniport threw at us together. We came across the good, the bad and the ugly that day, from women in administrative offices demanding for money before they would accept our documents to men who were constantly trying to ask Jennifer out. It was a long day, but it wasn’t a boring one.

Later that day, when all the hustle and bustle had died down, I tried calling Ekom again, this time she picked up. Turns out she wasn’t even in town, she said something about having to travel for a job in Lagos. I couldn’t understand what kind of job she was doing that would make her forgo her registration, but I kept my thoughts to myself and wished her the best. I was bummed out that I couldn’t see her that day, but hey, I still had five more years ahead of me so I didn’t bother me too much.

It was about 5pm when my new clique finally dispersed, Joshua and Peter went back to their hostels, Jennifer went to her aunts place at Rumuokoro and I was left alone at Choba junction waiting for my old man to come pick me up. After a few minutes, I saw a group of boys passing, they all wore a combination of red and black in one way or another and everyone kept shifting aside as they approached, I followed suit. The boys were lead by a tall and light skinned boy who didn’t look much older than me, he didn’t say anything as they passed, but nobody dared get ahead of him. Some unlucky chap, a freshman I’m sure, happened to not see them in time and ended up blocking the leader.

The poor chap received more slaps that day than he had ever received in his entire life, the boys kept on shouting two things, “Aromate” and “Vikings dey pass”. I had no idea what was going on but I decided it was best to keep my distance from them. Shortly after the slapping spectacle was over, the “Vikings” continued on their way and my old man arrived and took me home. As we drove home, I saw the boy who’d gotten beaten up lying on the ground virtually lifeless, but nobody came to his aide, I imagine people were too scared to help him, lest they become a victim of another slapping spectacle. I felt bad for the guy, but like everybody else, I couldn’t help him.

That day, I made it a point to never ever interfere or fraternize with those guys and their dealings, unfortunately, as you will find out, not every decision we make goes our way.


That's it for today guys. So if you enjoyed it then please

Comment
Upvote
Resteem


SOURCES
Picture 1


This is coming to you from @stach's very own @francistagbo.


Sort:  

Resteemed, upvoted & followed you @francistagbo!
For FREE Christmas Package Giveaways, visit me here

Good post
may ask for help upvote @mahmuddin i really need upvote from you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62980.19
ETH 3123.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87