America's Job Market is a Joke

in #story7 years ago (edited)


When I turned 13, my dream job was to get a job in the movie theatre (it was cliche for me, and i like the environment). So when I got my green card (card that give you permission to work). The following summer, I applied for "summer youth" and every movie theatre in New York City. The whole summer came and went and not one call from anyone. Throughout my teen years I was never picked for summer youth because "it's a lottery", that went on for 8 years


Fast forward to the future I'm 21, the closest I gotten to a job was the interviews. At this time I have heard every kind of excuse an employer can give me for why I didn't get the job (After finding out a high school diploma doesn't get you any closer to a job than a degree does, so 4 years of my life I won't be getting back).


2 Years later after High School my friend tells me about job corps, I remember my brother telling me something about this place when I was younger. So I went to apply there, I figure if they find out I went to job corps they have to hire me.


After 4 years of training in culinary arts, I was finished with a certificate of completion ready to get back into the workforce with a new attitude. After several months of the same results I was called by a job counselor



Turns out they forgot to mention that I needed certification to get any cooking position (4 more years wasted). So with no money and no certification I was back at square one.


Now I don't bother with the Job Market because now instead of excuses, I am OFTEN overlooked (regardless of how much knowledge I have) for a female.


Now I only rely on myself for income and have been making money all this time, I am often asked why don't I have a job. I tell them my story and to my surprise they expect me to waste my time with people asking me stupid questions.

Please Follow, Upvote, and Retweet more people need to know my story

Sort:  

Touching! follow for follow

Dude I am almost 40 years old and have come to the same conclusion.

I almost join the military after that then I remembered what this country have put me through and I say forget it

Sorry to hear about the Certification Fiasco. Good to know that You've managed to find your way out of it. I'm Planning on Farming for a living next year. I'm so sick of Working for Ignorant Corporations and Employers that Don't Value my Contribution.

I've always wanted to farm I love being in an open field. have you always want farm?

Yes, It's always been a Dream of mine. My Grandfather was a Farmer. Just a small farm though.. nothing too intensive. Kind of like a Hobby Farm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39