Steem Prices Are Low Again, How Long Before You Leave (Again)?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

CoverImage

First, let me tell you about my biggest mistake on Steemit so far then I can watch you pack your bags and leave.

This is a very selfish post. The most selfish post I've written in the history of post writing.

Do I care? Maybe not.

So let me just drop this here; like the price of Steem.



image

The price of Steem can't seem to stop dropping. It seems as though gravity has got "Drop it like it's hot" on repeat. It looks to have a firm grip on this one.

All the crowd we attracted to Steemit just a few weeks back are now beginning to disperse, faster than they came. The show is no longer interesting and there's no more incentives for the bystanders to linger on any longer.

The chaff is being separated from the wheat.

It doesn't make any sense to spend endless hours on a post only to watch it make a silly $1 after 7 whole days. What's the point of investing all that energy? I'd be better off doing something else, won't I?



Drop Balls, Not Steem.

The last time the price of Steem hit an all time low, I felt disenfranchised (that's a big word 🤔) and decided to take a break to watch things pan out. To cut the story short, it turned out to be my biggest mistake on Steemit so far.

So now you know. You can leave now!



Opportunities

image 2

Like a surfer (hi Marly 😊) that missed that last big wave because it didn't really look like a big wave at first (insert any other excuse), I was silently wishing for another opportunity to right my wrong.

For someone who didn't join Steemit for the money, I am such a wonderful example of the inherent power/influence/motivation money has.

You know, if I had to choose between Steem hitting $10 right now or $0.50, I'd very likely go with the latter.

Steem hitting $3 made me feel like a little boy whose cousins came over and began to mess up his room.

I mean, this (Steemit) is somewhere I had grown to know and get used to, only to see an influx of people who have no idea how the place was meant to be.

People who came over just because there were loads of toys in my room and they could get to take some home.

They wanted my action figures even though they knew nothing about them.

They tore apart my comic books while struggling to own them because they didn't know the importance of those books and therefore couldn't give the books the respect they deserve.

They found my bed so comfy and kept bouncing on it, rumpled my bedsheets and almost broke the frame.

My room was in complete chaos because all these people suddenly came in.

The Good News 😊

image 3

There are no more toys to play with! Can you all go home now?

Yes! Go home with all the toys and let's see how valuable they are now that you've wrecked them all.

How have they made you any better than you were before you came in?

You definitely made an impact albeit a very negative one, so congratulations to you.

Now let's see those who are here because they love the idea of being in my room; toys or no toys!



Why Is A Low Priced Steem Not A Bad Thing?

I found this out the hard way but when the price of Steem is low, you tend to earn more Steem from your payouts.

There's a very simple, back of the napkin, math that can be done to prove this.

So when Steem is $2, and your liquid payout from your post is $10, you get $10 worth of Steem which is 5 Steem.

Now when Steem is $0.50, that same $10 liquid payout will give you 20 Steem.

But just in case the value of payout drops, you only need $2.50 to match the same number of Steem $10 would have given you.

Don't be fooled by the price tag on the surface!

It's the Steem you accumulate during these low periods that will boost your earnings when the prices go up.

Imagine how much faster your Steem Power will grow when you're getting 20 Steem for $10 as compared to getting just 5 Steem. That's 4x faster, yeah?

Bottomline

I'm assuming that if you made it this far, you're probably really on Steemit to share your amazing stuff and interact with the community.

Don't let the low price of Steem stop you from putting out the quality content you've always been putting out.

The best time to write on Steemit is now!

Do it for the love of the craft and art.

Do it because you can.

Do it for the freedom it gives.

Do it for the joy and excitement you feel from engaging with the community.



The only reason why you shouldn't upvote, resteem, and follow me is if you hate what you've just read. That's even not a good enough reason but we can make do with that. So what are you waiting for? 😊

Sort:  

I found this out the hard way but when the price of Steem is low, you tend to earn more Steem from your payouts.

Bingo! Now is the time to continue posting while we can accumulate more SP.

Solid article my friend. Hope you are well. Steem on!

Yeah yeah. I am doing fine. I'm sure you are too!

Steem on!

Yes, I am! Thank you for asking! Moving on!

@fisteganos , you're right on the money, my friend. Feel free to interpret that statement in all the several ways which translate correctly 🙂
I was posting regardless of the value of Steem, figuring, when Steem was around 10 cents and I was paid, say $17 on a post (lucky me!!!) that if Steem took off to $10, that $17 post would later be worth $1700 🤗

The greater value for me was the rapidly increasing, early adopter rep and steem power: I really enjoy being near the top of the list when I upvote someone for contributing quality content 🙂

Everyone, the time to represent is now.
Fewer posts mean the people who are invested in this platform have fewer posts to potentially see, therefore making for a greater chance that YOUR post will be seen and upvoted!

I thought 1206 posts per day were a lot back in the diz-ay... Currently we're at over 10 times that! AFTER the fall in price!

Keep posting my friends, the time to increase your rep, your steem, your writing skills, and steempower is NOW.

The second wave of Steemit celebrities are now being built - hope to see you all in Portugal!

@scan0017 😘

The greater value for me was the rapidly increasing, early adopter rep and steem power: I really enjoy being near the top of the list when I upvote someone for contributing quality content 🙂

This here is what I couldn't explain to @lexikon082 . Steem Power was rapidly increasing at that time. Maybe because the payouts was in Steem, SBD, and Sp instead of just SBD and SP as it is at the moment. So there was more Steem to power up.

First, I agree that posting is the thing to continue doing. Secondly, I do agree this will separate those who are here for the money and those who want to bring value to the community.

Ok, so let's move onto your table napkin math.

One aspect not mentioned is when the price of steem drops you will need more upvotes to achieve that same dollar value as before. In the example you gave, it would be 4x the amount of upvotes (with all variables staying the same except for dollar value of steem) to achieve the same dollar value.That's important to annotate.

Also, in regard to the room. How did new people on steemit mess up your room? I'm not saying they didn't, but if we want people to know how to play by the rules, we can't just say,"Hey, you didn't play by the rules, now go home". If we do that we just look like a big high school clique. We need to let them know what rules were broken and how they can play by them.

I know from reading your past posts that you have touched on this, but what about those who haven't? They will just look at this post as one big rant and move on with nothing to gain. Maybe include relevant links to the "rules" we like to play by.

I thinking making the rules known is important because we need Steemit to grow and there is no way we can properly grow without new Steemians knowing how to follow "rules" generally accepted by the community as a whole. The table napkin math comment was just a nitpick to achieve full transparency.

Overall, I liked this story post.

One of the first things to do when you move to a new environment is to try to understand what goes on and how things work. These rules might not be flashed in your face but they exist and the saying "ignorance is not an excuse" will forever be golden.

It's even in law! So feigning ignorance can never vindicate whoever. So far these laws exist, everyone is bound to go in search of them and find them out. If they didn't exist at all, that would have been a different case.

Yeah, the math was presented in its simplest form and I definitely agree there are other factors to it. That was just bare skeletons being presented. But I think I took your point into consideration when I mentioned that in order to get the 5 Steem that $10 would have given you, all you need is to get $2.50. This means that people shouldn't be discouraged when they see $2.50 because ultimately it'll give the same number of Steem that the previous $10 would have given.

By the way, I was expecting a "thirdly" after "secondly" lol 😄

Lol. You are too funny with the last sentence. You know I could give you props on your content all day long.

I do agree that feigning ignorance is no excuse. But even I have a hard time finding what is the acceptable norm. Sometimes I still get myself into trouble, lol. It can truly be hard to find content sometimes on here. That is why I think links would have been helpful.

And yes, you did touch on the subject of receiving the same amount of steem if the price looks lower for payouts. It didn't click and for that I stand corrected.

What threw me off is

Imagine how much faster your Steem Power will grow when you're getting 20 Steem for $10 as compared to getting just 5 Steem.

You're not really growing faster in Steem Power. You are getting more upvotes for your content if the price of Steem drops and still achieve the same dollar amount. I would consider the accumulation of SP the result of growth in your channel(or more upvotes on that particular article) and not an acceleration of SP because of price.

I could still be missing something here! So, feel free to try and get my little brain wrapped around this, lol. I've been known to misunderstand a concept once or twice.

Lol. I've really thought deeply about this and we could just keep going on and on.

Imagine a scenario where everyone that was voting for you at 1% decide to up their votes to 10% or more to beat the difference in price? Means you don't need a higher number of upvotes to get that $10 😊.

Lol. Anyway, I fully understand your point.

From personal experience though, my SP grew faster during my first three months when prices were ridiculously low compared to these last few months (despite earning more on my posts!)

maybe there's a deeper interpretation I need to find.

we could just keep going on and on.

Lol, I know we could. Especially, because I think we both know that we mean each other no harm and are having an honest discussion.

And you are right; if the same number of followers that upvote your post increased their voting by the same percentage that steem went down to keep the dollar amount the same...this would negate the effects of the price drop and accelerate SP by 4x with the same number of followers.

However, this changes the whole scenario because two variables have changed, the steem price and an increase in the price of the upvotes you receive by the same number of followers. That is a completely different argument when all variables stay the same except for steem price.

But you got my original point as you said in the reply.

However, I think you have stumbled across a way to accelerate steem power on your account tremendously. Now if you could just get your followers to increase their normal voting percentage by about 100%(steem price has roughly been cut in half). Really, I think this is genius.

my SP grew faster during my first three months when prices were ridiculously low compared to these last few months

This I am genuinely curious about. Sure if your curation rewards were flat in regard to author rewards than I would understand. However, we both know you have grown your channel.

But, If your observation is correct I would also like to know why.

I like every word on this post. Even the big ones! Thanks mate, great post! Wasn't planning on leaving though! Steemit is life!

Great post. yup now is time to buy more!!

Thanks for thanking me lol.

Wasn't planning on leaving though!

Even when you earn way less than minimum wage for typing out words? Even when big words don't equal big rewards? You're sure?

Haha! Sure as can be! No amount of words big or small will let me leave! Made some great friends here and always learning new ways of doing interesting things here on Steemit. It has officially become more fun than playing games!

Hey brother

I'm just thinking, what will make me think i need to leave steemit because price is dipping? Everything in crypto is dropping right now and almost all the first 100 coins on coinmarketcap are bearish. I'm yet to put a cent in steemit so if it pays on few upvotes, that's fine and if not i just keeping writing and hope for another price hike soon.

Steemit low price is better than facebook high price that only favour Zuckerberg and his colleagues

Well, some people come here to make quick bucks and get disappointed when they see low payouts. It's funny but some people actually believe they DESERVE to get paid on here. Like who else pays you to be you?

Maybe only steemit :)

Life Says's never give up!! Thanks for sharing your beautiful story sharing with us @fisteganos!!

You're welcome!

Lol. Please!!!!!!

Very good story and solid advice. Ignore the daily price. Just keep posting and keep building. This thing is growing by the day and week. High prices always bring people back, but you'll be in better shape to benefit from them if you put in the time now to help others and make Steemit as good as it can be.

High prices always bring people back, but you'll be in better shape to benefit from them...

Exactly! This is what I learned the other time. Thank you 😊

O boi. We are still grinding. Only the strong survives.

Keep grinding!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fisteganos from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50