Sharing some bait and knowledge equals giant redfish for young angler

in #story7 years ago (edited)

I was at the pier on Anna Maria Island yesterday and the weather and fishing was stellar. When the tide was moving the bite was almost instant using plump sandperch netted in the shallows. The snook and redfish were eager to eat a well placed bait uptide of the pier. I was cooling off in the water when I noticed a young angler throwing a artificial lure with no success. I told him I had some extra bait and he was welcome to use some. This was music to his ears, I showed him how to rig up his rod and how I like to hook the sandperch and he did the rest. He caught a nice redfish and a few snook and he was stoked! It is amazing how just a small thing like sharing some bait can turn a young angler's day to one he may never forget.
SnapShot(797).jpg

SnapShot(796).jpg

One of the baits I was using all of a sudden gets eaten and the fish starts a huge run and almost spools me. I end up jumping off the pier about half way down and run in the water after him. I get some line back then start a long battle with about a 100 pound stingray. Someone cut his tail off when he was a younger ray so my son got to touch him a bit. We released him after a brief visit.

SnapShot(804).jpg

SnapShot(800).jpg

SnapShot(801).jpg

SnapShot(807).jpg

SnapShot(806).jpg
Here is some of my snook and redfish I caught.

SnapShot(794).jpg

SnapShot(798).jpg

SnapShot(792).jpg

My son Zachary got his first redfish!
SnapShot(782).jpg

SnapShot(808).jpg

SnapShot(809).jpg

SnapShot(810).jpg

Sort:  

Ah, fishing! One of the great joys of life! Thanks for passing the joy along to young anglers.

Awesome! I will be heading down to Venice from Homosassa in the next few weeks and will DEFINITELY be stopping by Anna Maria pier for a few hours after seeing that! Thanks for sharing!

Wow...good job!!!

NICE CATCH!!! Possibly the best place to fish from land at this current moment!!

Nice report @fishdad!

Amazing pics bro:) I live in florida my self

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43