BAD SPAM / GOODSPAM

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Nobody likes spam. Or... DO they?

No not really but still! I want to make a distinction between bad spam and what I like to call the GoodSpam.



First off, Bad Spam, as I'm sure you're all familiar with, often consists of generic comments and a request for upvotes. I would include in this anything that was cut and pasted over and over on a multitude of accounts, with low effort towards content, for the sole purpose of self promotion. In short, Bad Spam is lazy, opportunistic and adds no value to the platform.

I've been fighting back against this with my own homemade gif animations that are colloquially referred to as: Anti Spaminations, or WhamBaLamSpaminations, and sometimes even WhamBamThankYouSpaminationalities Across The Globe.

Here's the first one I created, that I initially posted as just an animation sample but have since been using for the purpose of striking abject humiliation into the hearts of these nefarious ne'erdowells. And now this patriarch of my ever growing Anti Bad Spamily of Mankind has been upgraded into a message that is better deemed to be Spam Worthy, as it were.

spam1st.gif

You can use this yourself if you want to, it actually appears much smaller in the comments section. Just Copy and paste this code here:

https://steemitimages.com/DQmf9ainZ5pbuwAHfSvtcKjmMLNyRgAJnMixnJ7T3RukdiQ/spam1st.gif

Other Anti Bad Spaminations of mine can be found here, here, and especially HERE...


And Now! BRINGETH THE GOODSPAM!


This is a tactical form of spam that I've used on posts that have been shown to engage in high levels of bid bot activity. My view on this is that it's a free world and people can spend their money however they want. As such, if I can create an engaging bit o spam that capitalizes on their investment then so it is my right as well. If indeed we are involved in an emerging "attention based economy" then it stands to reason that the new metric would be VALUE for ATTENTION. This is what I try to provide with my GoodSpam attempts. But don't take my word for it; here's an example:

EXAMPLE.jpg

OH JOY! ANOTHER BID BOT ABUSER CREATING OPPORTUNITY FOR ME!

For those of you who are unaware, the profile that posted the above article has been over bidding on voting bots in order to place his work on the trending page. A lot of people have gotten upset about this because it takes away opportunities for others, by crowding out their work on the site. As well, since he is overbidding on the bots, he ends up causing a negative ROI, making the option completely useless for all of the other bidders who don't deliberately over bid.

NAUGHTY, NAUGHTY, SAY THE DETRACTORS!

TSK.jpg

But I don't say that. It is absolutely his right to spend his money any way he wants.

What it comes down to is this: to anyone who complains, he can simply reply: "Concentrate on your own blog instead of complaining." Well you know what?

POINT AND CLICK GUY IS RIGHT PEOPLE!

IN FACT I say take his advice to the next level by getting on board:

BITBOT.jpg

That's right folks it's time to use the abuser, ride his coattails, tie my wagon to the dragon and gain leverage by committing one of the cardinal sins of Steemit ettiquite and leave an elegantly designed and humorously written link spam post in the comment sections in order to grab some of his AUDIENCE!!

I call this GOODSPAM and IT'S AN ABSOLUTE HAPPENING MY SENTIENT HUMANS OF STEEMIT. In fact, it is in the spirit of #gratitude and #respect that I'm doing this. Gratitude to this massive overbidder for providing me with the opportunity to present my work to a larger audience, and respect for that very audience's capacity to discern the subtle irony and satiric value of this endeavour.


My Commitment: I will only do this on posts that have abused? Overused? Gone bonkers for? the bidding bot system

FOR IF I HAVE SEEN FURTHER, IT IS ONLY BY STANDING ON THE SHOULDERS OF GIANTS

And these are some giant shoulders I am standing on here and so without further ado here is my overbid bot caboose link:

Chapter Fourteen, ACT TWO of my ongoing Freewrite Serialized Story

For the past two months I've been writing my own continuous story based on @mariannewest's 5 minute free write prompts.

So far my main character has run from pursuers after waking up in an abandoned barn, slept in a jet engine turbine beneath a tree, discovered an underground world, traversed across the sea beneath an underground sky and miniature sun, dove into the sea in the hold of a wooden duck submarine, found a doorway to a mountain in the basement of the submarine, gone skiing down that mountain into a frozen canal, where he encountered the Living Church at the shores of a second ocean, entered the Church, eaten energy wheat kernels while being granted a name by the Abbot of the Living Church, followed a snake to a glass door that denied his name and therefore entry, and has just now been stung by a crazy wasp.

SOUND LIKE A FUN RIDE? WELL YOU CAN READ THE LATEST CHAPTER HERE!

A GIGANTIC PIPING HOT BOWL OF THANK YOU to the guy with some sort of trending post up there FOR PROVIDING ME WITH THIS UNPRECEDENTED OPPORTUNITY AND THANK YOU EVERYONE ELSE FOR CLICKING THAT LINK AND SUPPORTING MY CHANNEL!

qualityspam.gif

EXAMPLE2.jpg


Now! Remember what I said about Bad Spam? That it is lazy, opportunistic and adds no value to the platform? Well what I hope to accomplish here is a type of GoodSpam that is hardworking, opportunistic and adds so much value to the platform that the platform tilts in favour of those of us who truly work hard at what we do. I first did this on this post two months ago, and tried it a few more times, with let's just say, some mixed results. It's a somewhat controversial tactic from what I can tell, and now I'm angling to get back at 'er there buddy!

So what do you think? Be I a hypocrite? Or is this the type of initiative that you could get behind?

If your answer is to the latter then good news! I've created a new GoodSpam that I'm debuting right here today in fact NOW:

minnows.gif

Wanna use it?

OKAY!

HERE!

https://steemitimages.com/DQmWVmsekvHjofkEyDLKf5rVJMvUaJxZpbRC5jQgRRFVbgk/minnows.gif

Have fun out there my Good Spambulatory minions of Rock On.


Writing and images/animation by Greg McCann, the author of this post and owner of this Steemit Channel. To view more of my work, please visit www.fireawaymarmot.com.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by FireAwayMarmot from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86