Random Short Story #1

in #story7 years ago

shutterstock_663118882.jpg

Let's Talk

She started walking towards the gate of the university. It's her usual routine since she moved, like clockwork, after her vocational class, she'd walk a couple of blocks to the university where her mother's best friend worked. In a way, it made her life in that new place a little more bearable.
She smiled at the guard and offered some of the baked goodies she made in her class. She'd been there a lot, so it felt somewhat normal for them to see her carrying around boxes towards the school. She knew something was different that day, although she couldn't really put her finger to it. It might've been intuition, or just plain paranoia, but she knew something was up.
She knocked on the door of her new auntie's office, she opened the door slightly and poked her head in. She was lucky her auntie wasn't talking to someone. As she entered she opened the box, offering everything inside to the older woman. "How was class?" the older woman said. "Fun, as usual."
The older woman nodded, "Don't you feel lonely? I mean don't you miss them?"
She smiled and said "Everyday." somehow the sudden question took her by surprise, it's not uncommon for psychologists to try and unravel the secret of someone's mind. But to her, it seemed odd that she'd want to probe.
"How are your grandparents? I used to go to your house when your mother and I were younger."
She hesitated, she knew her auntie isn't really that in touch with what's happening with the family, as she's busy with her own (of course). "I don't see them anymore."
"But why?" was all the older woman said.
"Because I hate them with all my heart." she began, trying to reel in the emotion she was beginning to feel. "I hate them so much."
"My dear, don't say such things, they're still your mother's parents." the older woman gasped, taken aback by what the younger woman said.
"I know they hate him, I can see it in their eyes when they talked to him. If they can't love him the way we love him. They don't deserve our love." she began to say angrily. "He's done nothing but show love, and what did they do in return? Talk crap behind his back." tears started to well up in her eyes. She knew it was only a matter of time before the dam keeping her emotions in line broke. "You want to know what's the worst part?"
The older woman stood up, and put her hand on the younger woman's hand. "I'm listening, my child, please let it all out."
"Grandpa's blind, so he'd often ramble on not knowing who he's talking to. One day, my grandma miss placed her money as our family came to visit. You want to know what he said?" the younger woman sneered. "He said 'I knew that good for noting man is a thief, it's only a matter of time before he showed us how foul he really is', he said that because he didn't know my little sister was in the room with him." she started to sob uncontrollably, making snorting noises as she tried to stop herself from showing any more emotions. "Like, he knows how much mother loves him, can't he at least try to love him?"
The older woman put her arm around the younger woman's shoulders and gave out soothing noises. "At least now, you're not so strung."
She knew the younger woman was in pain, and that she needed to let it all out before she can truly move on from all the hate she felt deep in her heart.
It's not really fiction, I just wanted to write about what happened to me when I went out of town to study, hope you liked it. I'm open to all types of criticisms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44