I Made The Worlds Best Drone Photos List! | Drone PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago

So apparently one of my shots made it on The Australian in a list titled "The Worlds Best Drone Photos".
WTF!!!
I actually can't believe it.

There are soo many talented drone photographers out there and the number keeps on growing every day. I am just soo grateful to be among these amazing talents and over the moon right now to be featured on mainstream media.
The story behind the photo is long but basically it took me WEEKS to capture this shot.

I went everyday before and after work to spot whales in Bondi. I saw plenty, but tracking them with a drone is seriously difficult. Remember you only have 25mins battery life on these drones and whales are always at least 1km away. Weeks went by and it wasn't until I took a trip to North Curl Curl that I immediately spotted a pack of whales around 3km away.

The conditions were perfect and although very far away, I really trust my drone...so I went for it.
It felt like 15mins went by when I finally arrived close to these creatures. I kept a safe distance from them at all times. Due to my battery life I only had like 3-5mins to get my shots before I had to fly back.

I made it back with like 3% battery or something insane. Fighting the wind the entire way back.
But I got the shot and it made it on this list! Soo worth it!

the 11th photo is mine

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/the-worlds-best-drone-photos/image-gallery/84c3a689e8e1ae652d04239763940d92

IMG_3173.JPG

Sort:  

Amazing shot! Congrats :D

thank you soo much!

thanks soo much buddy!

Well deserved, this picture is just awesome. Interesting reading part of the story behind it. Drone photography sounds challenging but so rewarding.

BTW, you should avoid posting with 100% power unless SBD is below the dollar. You can buy more SP with the SBD you'll get.

Cheers.

Thank you soo much for you're kind words! Soo glad you like the story behind that photo. Also thank you for the advice ill be sure to do that on my next post :)

Really good shot. Must have been pretty hairy being over the water with low battery levels. I've flown over waterfalls and suchlike and that always worries me. Once, my mavic became uncontrollable in the mists of a waterfall. Scary times.

it was scary to say the least. I really believe in trusting your drone. be one with your drone haha

Well deserved. It's an amazing shot.

soo happy you like it thank you soo much!!!

Such a good shot man !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65054.60
ETH 3558.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35