The Old man by the stream: His Advice

in #story6 years ago (edited)

Ajadi, Ajadi, Ajadi, My son.... I heard the sound from the other side of the stream. I wonder who could it have been. My heart skipped, my soul troubled within. The surroundings was quiet and calm, gentle breeze blow among the bushes. I body shivers.

Who is that i said
Who knows me i resounded
Is it a human being or a spirit, i murmur the word under a heavy breathing

IMG_20180324_201038_957.JPG

[Source]

Ajadi, come closer the voice called out again.

This time the voice is more clearer as i become more afraid.

I want to run but my leg refuse to give way, what is happening my mind keep on skipping my sense. Can this be my imagination? My other mind told me to check out who was calling while i stood still shivering. I walk pass the plank put on the river to the other side, my heart keep on skipping. Eventually, i came face to face with the voice, an old man close to 100years of age was sitting under the tree by the river bank.

Come closer my son he said...

As i walk towards him my mind of full of thought about the missing Akanmu that was announced by the town crier last night. I was afraid and at the same time need to find out how this old man know my name. I move closer to him while he offered me a sit on the raft beside him.
I want to show you something, said the old man. I patiently listen to him will i was also conscious of where i was sitting. My son he began, do you see that spring over there as he gestured with his pointed finger, i gazed my eye towards his hand. The spring is dry i said and he nod in affirmation.

What happened i asked the old man?

Hmm... My son, you see that spring is the source of water to seven towns. They all come there to get water to drink, to wash, to bath and water to do all their needs. This towns have co-existenced for over an 300years and everything has being going on smoothly until the reign of King Ajagun who because of his selfish interest want to lay claim to the spring. He said claimed that the land on where the spring was belong to his forefathers. He planned to poison the spring and he declared that all his subject should fetch water that will last them for three days. He later poisoned the water. Unknown to him the spring was of supernatural being which won't allow evil to fall on anyone that drinks from it.

The poison had no effect as those that took from the river stay fine and healthy. This anger King Ajagun and he decides to seek for spiritual help in other to accomplish his mission. An Ifa priest was consulted and he told the king the only taboo that will affect the river. This is a difficult decision but the king is desperate and he his ready to go any length to achieve him aim.

Hmm, the old man sight..

My son, the heart of man is desperately full of evil.
A tragic incident happens on the general market day. A young maiden sent by her parent to the market got missing. This has never happened before within the seven towns. The news was heard far and near, warriors and hunters were sent in search of the missing maiden but she couldn't be found.

Tears flow like river at her house, she was the only child.

King Ajagun gave the river its taboo, he slaughter a maiden and shed her blood flowing into the river.

The river godess get angry. She strikes back but not on the king alone but also on the whole town.

There is an outbreak of diseases, the spring become undrinkable, not suitable for washing and also destroy life. The spring now get more blood flowing into it. Though King Ajagun thought he could achieve his aim but ended up causing a great problem for the land. In other to find a solution to the problem, rivers from the other kingdom consulted the oracle and they told to aplease to the god of the stream. Yes, she accepted the offer but not without the promise that he won't reside among them again.

Every since then town refuse to experience development and the one fertile land is now struggling to be fruitful.

Let I forget, King Ajagun ran naked and his whole household all die a painful death.

Baba Advice

My son, don't let greediness and jealousy gets into you. You can see what is killing this nation. Nothing else than greediness in the life of the rulers. They believe not until they have all to themselves they won't be alright. Most of them end up with a sorrowful ending. When you amass what is not your to yourself then be ready to carry the burden of others also.

  1. Be contend
  2. Don't live above your means
  3. Be compassionate
  4. Always have the fear of the supreme being.

It shall be well with you my son, baba said

This story got me thinking, the old has simply told me the reality of what is going on in our society. I left the stream side with a whole lot of thought going on in my mind.
Can we ever get it right in this country again?

Sort:  

Great fictional work. And great lessons there to learn. Keep improving at it, soon you will earn a Curie upvote.

nice post

Hello! I find your post valuable for the wafrica community! Thanks for the great post! @wafrica is now following you! ALWAYs follow @wafrica and use the wafrica tag!

Oya, my friend the story teller. This is great

I am patiently following your footstep ni o @oluwatobiloba. Happy sunday to you.

congratulation your post was selected as notable for @wafrica daily reward

https://steemit.com/africa/@wafrica/wafrica-daily-post-reward-day-2

Thanks @jeaniepearl and also @wafrica for recognizing good content.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by fadiji09 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68296.35
ETH 3839.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64