You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #HollowWin (Part 2)

in #story8 years ago

Phenomenal conclusion to a collection of horror shorts! Fine job indeed! The guy who fell from the building was a sad, tragic tale.

You know a well written piece of literary work when the reader can almost exist in the world you are creating for them. That is the magic of the "word" and the people who can wield the pen in such a way I consider artists in their own right. You, sir, are up there with the best!

Great post, @jedau!

Sort:  

I really appreciate the compliment, @ezzy! Too kind of you! I'm very glad you enjoyed the read, and I'm especially happy that it had the intended effect. When I conceptualized the story, I wanted to write something that's a bit too fast-paced, that the reader gets lost in what was happening.

In the case of the father, I wanted to make him such a vile figure (wife beater) then pull up the curtain and make people want to root for the guy. I want readers to question their initial allegiances by the time the whole story is over.

Admittedly though, my eyes welled up as I was writing the building part. I knew how I would end his story and I was having a hard time. I kept reminding myself that my intention was to not let any of these characters "win," and while he was the most redeemable, he still had a checkered history.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16