My Personal Thoughts on "I, Tonya"

in #story7 years ago

This past weekend, my wife and I went to check out Margo Robbie's latest movie outing I, Tonya. I had been vaguely was aware of the shocking true life events regarding champion ice skater Tonya Harding back in 1994 so a biographical adaptation retelling the sordid saga in full, was something not to be missed. So, given a great actress in the lead role as well as a stellar supporting cast, can this movie do justice to their real life off-screen counterparts and dig deep into the dark, twisted world of Tonya Harding?

1.jpg

First off, it should be mentioned that the movie's background narrative is recounted by the three main stars of the movie. That being Tonya Harding herself (played by Margo Robbie), her mother LaVona Fay Golden (played by Allison Janney) and Tonya's ex-husband Jeff Gillooly (played by Sebastian Stan). We follow Tonya's life from a young girl of four as she embarks on a glittering career in ice skating after her mother discovers her gifted talents early on. Taken under the wing of trainer Diane Rawlinson (played by Julianne Nicholson), she slowly works her way up the rankings to become one of the best figure skaters in the USA. In the meanwhile, she meets a guy named Jeff and begins a relationship with him that soon turns serious. However, despite her valiant efforts to make it to the top of her chosen career, the two most prominent people in her life also prove to be the most destructive and things quickly take a turn for the worse... Much worse.

I went into this movie with little to no expectation. Which could possibly have been the best way to watch something like this. Even if the Olympic subject matter doesn't do it for you, the underlying story itself certainly should. I absolutely loved this movie. Tonya herself, being a shy, retiring sort of girl, is surrounded by some of the most despicable and loathsome individuals yet committed to screen. It's hard to ascertain how much of her mother's on-screen presence is exaggerated or not, as the case may be, but you feel nothing but empathy for Tonya's and her unfortunate plight. This movie deals with some harsh realities of her life, recreated with as much brutality as the acts themselves portray. The relationship between herself and Jeff is no better, further causing us as an audience to root for her even further. The raw emotion driven by a fast-moving script, great acting and some excellent editorial work, all gel seamlessly. You can see the huge influences from Goodfellas in it's tonal styling and "breaking the fourth wall" narrative segments. It all adds up to a rich, vibrant and compelling story that never seems to have a dull moment. And a standing ovation must be given to Margo Robbie for one of ( if not "the") best performances of her entire career.

Though I've never had any interest per se in figure skating itself, the choreography and fluidity of Tonya's scenes on ice, were mesmerising. The effects team did a stellar job in making you believe that you are actually watching Margo pulling off every elegant move, as well as the fabled and extremely difficult "triple axel jump" that became the signature move of Tonya. The key element to this movie being as great as it was is a very strong beginning. The established roles the trio perfected, setup for the big "incident" later on in the third act that, sadly, Tonya became more well known for in the end. It's a tale of "what could have been" had all the pieces of the puzzle fit perfectly together for her. But at the same time, how the dreams and ambitions of one young hopefully took her higher than most in her situation could have ever hoped for. In terms of any problems with the movie, I struggled to find any. I guess some may be put off by the depiction of violence against children or other physical domestic abuse, but other than that, you have a solid grade brilliant movie on your hands.


I was very impressed with this unexpected surprise hit. I actually read up on the online critical consensus "after" viewing the movie with a neutral biase and it appears I'm not the only one who was suitably entertained. I, Tonya was a rip-roaring ride into the life of one of the greatest figure skaters the world has never known. Check this movie out if you get the chance. Believe me, you could do a lot worse.

My Verdict: (9/10)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

*Source: (1,2,3,4)

Hope you enjoyed this post, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Thanks for reviewing this, was wondering if it would be any good. I love ice skating so will definitely go and see it :)

Hey @airlea! I've been visiting your blog and must say you've got a great talent for it. So all the more humbled by your dropping by my post. Check out this movie when you get the chance, hope you like it.

All the very best, @airlea! STEEM ON!!! :)

Margo Robbie is a VERY talented actress. Awesome review. I REALLY want to see it now! I'm new to steem it and honestly i'm in shock at the number of talented writers and creators here. I hope people like my unbelievably true stories post as much as they love your work, maybe you can check a story out and let me know what you think...It's not a hollywood blockbuster... but I believe you'll be fairly entertaine. Keep up the awesome work!

You have intrigued me, @ezzy. I am no figure skating devotee by a long shot. The most I have ever watched figure skating would be viewing the movie Blades of Glory multiple times. But it seems as if the skating is just the background and the life is the focus. I'll be on the lookout for this one on the streaming services.

I'm with you there, brother! Figure skating ain't really by thing, so the fact that I was so captivated by the way these scenes were shot, just blew me away. And yes, this movie's main focus is the her story... with elements of figure skating thrown in. A great movie and one I'd actually love to watch again in the near future.

(p.s. I love Blades of Glory, as does @rea, lol) :)

Maxim Magazine, last issue: "Chazz Michael Michaels IS figure skating!"

I actually knew a guy named Michael Michaels. I don't know where he is now, but he's probably in jail.

This post has been upvoted and resteemed. I started following you to see more of your work!

I remember when I moved to Portland, I was shocked and in awe that I was walking the very same streets as Harding. An OG thug. I can't wait to see the movie. Thank you for the review!

Thank you, buddy! "An OG thug", lol! Classic line, my friend! But yeah, what happened in her life was just so crazy OTT... All the best, bud and thanks once again. :)

if the script writer of the movies check your post then he will say the same as i am going to say for you.
Hey! @ezzy you are an amazing writer with a perfect grip on the subject to review a movie in a more critical way i am really really going to watch this movie on weekend for sure, for your amazing write up Take a bow <3

Thanks for the review My Friend ;)

Stay Blessed, Steem On!

Thank you for those heartfelt comments, bud. Much appreciated... :)

Nice, I remember watching her as a kid, figure skating is actually pretty sweet. I'd like to see this one at some point.

Also, @ezzy, check out Electric Dreams on amazon prime video, really good show with based on short stories by philip k dick, I bet it'd be up your alley. And I mentioned Altered Carbon in a different post but think you missed it, it's a sci fi show coming to netflix based on a book I read that was pretty good, so I have high hopes!

I'd definitely give one a go, bro. It's so well out together and seeing as you're already familiar with the main character.

And thank you for the recommendation from Electric Dreams. Will defo put that on my "to watch" list. :)

Margot Robbie and the title alone makes me want to watch it.

Thanks for the recommend!

I am going to write up a recommendation movie list myself soon bro!

Thank you, @aldentan! Really hope you like it as much as I did. Also look forward to checking your upcoming movie review posts. Don't forget to send me a link... :)

This scandal was all kinds of epic. Now, with this recommendation, I know I will not miss this one. Besides, I really like the work of Margot Robbie.

Thank you very much for sharing.

The way they portrayed the manic events that unfolded in Tonya's story were on point and recreated very well indeed. I've urge you to check it out, bud.

Thanks for dropping by. :)

That would be great to see. I always wonder those successful young sport figures's live. Most of them had "Sad" stories. In 80's and 90's I was also working as a journalist and witnessed some of them's stories, such as Katarina Witt! Your post about "I, Tonya" remembered those days. Thanks for sharing. Love it. Followed happily for your future posts. I also would like to watch the movie. Hugs and Loves from Spain to you and your family.

I hear you, bud. I love it when a movie shows the "other" side of the perfect dream in movies. Seeing how people who've been so close to making it, feel and act when it all comes crashing down. And this movie right here is one extreme example of just that. Thank you for an awesome comment, bro... :)

Yes, you are right here, bro. I also love achievements, excitements, but I can not stop thinking the story behind that success while watching them. Thanks for responds.. Great to know you.

Ohh it is amazing to see that there are movie reviewers here on steemit! @ezzy have you seen the movie Three Billboards Outside Ebbing Missouri?

Hey there! Nope, ain't see it yet but will defo be adding it to the list. Thank you! :)

Nice post but I guess I love the idea of taking your wife along as commendable. Family first. I pray your love grow stronger. Thanks for sharing

Lol, thank you, buddy. She also happened to like it quite a lot too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62984.33
ETH 2453.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67