Hey! Wanna Fight?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story7 years ago

1.jpg

“There comes a time when innocent sparring turns into adrenaline-fueled rage fests. It’s all fun and games until the big guns come out and all hell breaks loose. The trash talk flies, fists come down with seething anger behind them and winning seems to be all that matters now. Transcending the highest mountains to reach astronomical heights and reach heights where honour and respect are of paramount importance, second to none. Yes, there will be blood. And lots of it.”


What else could I be talking about? Well, Street Fighter. The game, to be more precise. And yet those simple words have such hidden power residing within them. I can’t tell you the amount of change I hurled at those arcade machines growing up, perfecting my skills as a virtual warrior, trying to learn that new combo that earned you more respect than you had any right to have. Oh yes, the good old days.

As a teenager, the console editions of this legendary combat-based game consumed most of my adolescence. A group of bleary-eyed youths all huddled in front of a television screen, attempting to outwit each other whilst showing off their individual skills and prowess in this game. It meant the world to them and nothing but. The innocence of the young, eh? Not a care in the world and yet everything to prove, in all the wrong places.

Where is this all going? Well, the above reminiscing refers to a time in my life that was almost too long ago to remember. Though something I must admit I do look back with a certain fondness. Sure, mother always used to tell me I’m wasting my time playing that video game crap, but I’m all grown up now and STILL stick to my guns that it was time well spend. Because I just have to face blatant facts. The memories were freaking awesome! And in the meantime, I passed all my exams, was consistently the teacher’s pet and somehow managed to land myself an honours degree as well. Not bad for a bog standard games-junkie, right?

Well, it just so happens that those times, no matter how long ago they occured, are yet to be laid to rest. And it all revolves around this one steemian I met at the Steemfest. @Exyle, to be more exact. And to be even more exact, a guy I consider to be one of the nicest people I’ve ever had the privilege in meeting and now one of my best buddies to boot (I hope the feeling is reciprocated, lol. I'm sure they are). Anyways, it was just a few short weeks back that he came over to London to pay me a visit with his lovely girlfriend, @bkdbkd. While he was staying at mine, we discovered our love for all things “Street Fighter”. Of course, this had to be backed up with a good old session of button-mashing and that was it! Pandora's Box had, in fact, never closed. The times of old resurfaced and the “younger” version of myself burst through into the present.

He posed a great challenge indeed, but to my surprise (very much so, might I add), the old muscle-memory kicked back into action. The fingers were flying over that control pad once more and combo after combo was unleashed in quick succession. Oh yes! Unbelievably, the old magic was still there.

Well, that then pretty much summed up the rest of his vacation here. Us eating the creme-de-la-creme of junk food all day and hardcore gaming sessions well into the early hours. Rinse and repeat the following day. It was so fun goddamn fun, I can’t tell you. But alas, his time here with us ultimately came to an end when they both bade us a touching farewell at the airport, to return back home. Though this was anything but a “farewell”.

You see, after his return, we still both had this “Street Fighter” bug pretty bad. I mean, it was such an awesome experience and recaptured such a memorable time in my life, I’d have loved it to simply continue! And so it did, as I believe not long after @exyle settled back in Rotterdam, we began our “online” matches and resumed where we’d left off. Man, lemme tell you! I’ve never seen a pro-gamer as dedicated and determined as him before! In my life! I’d be winning continuously (undefeated by him to this very day. And I’m talking close to a hundred hours of gaming altogether I’m sure) but his guy! He’s relentless! The terminator re-incarnate if ever I saw one! The more I’d inflict the pain and garner win after glorious win, the tougher he would get! I’ve never seen anything like it in my life!

And so begins an “oh-so-friendly” competition to see if I’ll ever be toppled as reigning supreme. He’s even written posts about it and has garnered quite a following of his fans hell-bent on seeing my destruction! Suffice to say, I’m more than up for the challenge.

But the funniest thing about all this? On Steemit, there have been flag wars, whale wars, steemian conflicts, voting collisions, political arguments. In fact, almost every conceivable drama you’d find in any half-decent soap opera out there. And in some deep, dark corner of Steemit, where few fear to tread. There are two grown-ass steemians, in the midst of all this war and chaos. Battling it out to see who really is..

The "Real" Ultimate “Street Fighter V” Champion.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

5.jpg

Let’s all make this world a better place. In the famous works of Mr. Jack Nicholson… “Can’t we all just… Get along.”

Thank you and goodnight everybody!

Until next time… :)


*Source: (1,2,3,4)

Sort:  

Oh how I love this post! Hahaha, not only does it bring back great memories, as I was one of the few girls amidst a gang of boys playing games like streetfighter, but it's also one of the best Brag articles I've ever read. An oh so subtle way of egging @exyle on, peppered with lovely and sincere compliments to the man, whilst coughing "I'm king" and "you stink" into your hands LOLOL!!! That just made me crack up laughing even more. I'll have to check out his post!

Lol! Hey @dreemit! Oh, this post was just a little bit of fun, with the emphasis being on "fun"! A little friendly, light-hearted competition is something I love. And it seems you know exactly what I'm talking about. I'm also so glad you awesome observations picked up on the "subtleties" in my words too, lol. :)

You're simply a delight, @dreemit... Thanks for brightening up my day! :)

Well Ezzy, I hope that you can still beat Exyle because he was playing computer games all his life and was very good at it. I know this because I am his mother and I was sometimes very anxious because I was afraid he was addicted. But he came to his senses and is only playing for fun those days. Now he bought a new device to play Street Fighter with you, so I am very curious to know what's going to happen. I know he is very good at playing computer games, so I wish you good luck (and him also of course!!!)

Thank you, @clio!

I've been taking a lot of heat in his comments section of how his fans want to see me destroyed and beaten. So I truly appreciate your calm outlook on this explosive rivalry! Lol, I'm kidding, of course. Your son is a gem and it's so good to have some harmless video game fun from time to time. He turned out great and really has his head screwed on the right way. So whatever you did to raise him, was how to do it "the right way"! :)

You should've become a game developer just so you could hear your mother tell you to keep playing video games, bro! Hahaha!

Lol, classic line, bro! It's all in good fun though, lol. I hope to think I turned out alright in the end. :)

One would argue that you turned out even better ;)

Lol, much appreciated for the kind words, man. Blessed to know you...

Forget streetfighters. When i do push hands on Saturday, some of the people get so serious over it when we are just practising. I think it's the competitive nature in most people.

Lol, yes! People naturally want to win and sometimes many undesirable characteristics also appear as a result. It is a lot of fun though, lol

Yes and you are supposed to learn to relax with taichi 😎

Lol, now that sounds like a good treatment strategy! :)

Street Fighter is my one of favourite game also prefer king of figther best fighting game I ever played nice story enjoyed followed you wish you the same 💟

Agreed. Street Fighter was the name of my youth. So many countless hours played. KoF is awesome too... :)

Continue? - Yes! .... :]

Lol! @exyle would love that gif. :)

By the way Ezzy, I value your opinion. What do you think of my latest post?
Do I exaggerate or do I have a point?

Thank you. I'll check it out right now. :)

Hahaha, I understand all too well, though its not been that long in my case. I reminisce the times spent battling my friends for the ultimate gaming glory. Fun times.

You can definitely relate, bro! As you say, so much fun!

I'm really struggling with playing challenge mode with ryu. I can't do level 7... :/ The opponent keeps blocking and my character is sliding away whenever i punch him

No problem. Whenever they block, grab and throw. Follow up with a suitable combo. You'll be fine from there on, son.

haha,nice post...

Lol. Thanks very much. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32