Descent Into Madness (My Original Short Stories)

in #story8 years ago (edited)

All I could think of and see in front of me was darkness. Inescapable darkness. I peered out over the bed sheet. The door was only open a crack so I could just make out the single dim beam of moonlight on the hallway floor. Yet I knew I was not alone. This house, this place I never imagined leaving, this protective sanctuary of my dreams had now become my prison, my own house of horrors, my own nightmare. 

In the light of day, things seem fine. I never realised how happy I could be, how free. Once the burden of being visited by people who thought they knew me was lifted, of course. My own company, my solidarity, the little bubble I had crafted to perfection for one and only me had been complete, there was no going back. I did not want to go back. No more strangers, pretending to care, feeling sorry for me, not understanding how I feel. I just want to be left alone. I need me. Only me.

But why then, as the dark settles across the walls of my self-contained paradise every night, does the scuttling begin. I have to run upstairs and hide in fear under the sheets before they leave "their" own sanctuary, searching for what? Or who? Who the hell do they think they are? They crawl through the dark at night scraping the floor with their nails, I can hear them. Hissing or spitting, I can't tell which. They scratch at my door on a few occasions, trying to get in. They don't know I'm here, they never will. They won't frighten me, not anymore. Just wait and see. I'll stay put in the living room tomorrow, waiting for them to appear. I'll get a weapon and fight if I have to. This nightly torture cannot continue. 

Oh wait. Was that giggling? It sounds like it's just outside the hallway. Wait. I didn't close the door. God, how could I be so stupid? What was I thinking? Why are you doing this to me, God? PLEASE TELL ME! I promise I'll be brave in the morning, just one more chance is all I ask. I'll prepare myself next time. I BEG OF YOU! There's a shuffling outside the door, they're coming in now! NO! Not a sound... Just breathe slowly... deeply... Is it too late now? I'm sure they know it's time to take me. They were just biding their time. That's what they want. Please God, one more chance! Oh my... The bed moved... Just lay still. 

This will all be over... soon    


Hope you enjoyed this short story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)




Sort:  

Creepy Stuff! One of the scariest stories I have ever read, honestly! Intense and filled with dread! Now I'm gonna be sleeping with one eye open tonight, lol. Pure excellence.

Thanks! That was the plan...

There's no other way to put this other than..."People are sleeping on this great piece of art"
This was a great short read and created fearful suspense with much ease. Well written and thought out and to be honest, I'm not sure if this is a imaginative piece but many elements of this story is relatable to an experience I had, maybe I'll post about it in the future.
My life has been very interesting to say the least. Upvoted and followed

Seriously, thank you so much! Means so much to me you saying that as I really love to write! Well, I'll be posting a lot more from now so be looking out for you. Bless!

Definitely looking forward to more posts. God bless

Thank you so much, the-alien. Can't tell you how much that means to me. Bless!

What are the things?! Tell me ezzy :)

Lol, I dare not think about it, my friend!

I enjoy reading your story very much, you have god given talent for writing. Looking to read your next.

Thanks myb! Your kind words mean a lot to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56465.77
ETH 2331.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36