Brutally Honest: 1 - Chase

in #story6 years ago (edited)

And so begins the first of many mishaps due to an overactive youth. The union of innocence and intellect rarely go hand in hand. Yet another example of a kid over complicating a simple circumstance...


Thumbs Up.jpg

...So I'm driving down the road in my old red second-hand Vauxhall Astra with a girl by my side who was kind enough to get into a relationship with me. Anyways, one of those small, mini-roundabouts rear up just ahead, to which I decide to put my foot down on the accelerator and bank a sharp left. A few turns through these narrow streets and I'll be home safe and sound just in time for supper. Well, as luck would have it, another car of a considerably smaller stature is approaching the same roundabout fast and just out of sight. It was one of those early Mini's with the bulging round headlights. In hindsight, it "was" his right of way but that didn't mean jack back then. At the same moment I made the turn, he slammed on the brakes hard, sounding the horn for what must have been a good ten seconds or so. Not wanting to appear like I gave a damn in front of my better half, the old middle finger went up in the air, following by a quick conceited smirk, before speeding off again.

So, I make it to the end of the road when it becomes apparent that this guy is closer than I'd like him to be in my rear-view mirror. It also comes to my attention that this hulking beast of a man is, in actuality, taking up most of the space in the driver's seat. His rage is evident by the rapid movement of his mouth and this one, surprisingly tiny finger, gesturing for me to park up at the nearest convenient spot. Now, I remember getting this dull, sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach. After all, this was an unwelcoming turn of events in my otherwise perfect plan to look "cool". Anna, my then girlfriend, was looking at me all curious like. "What the matter?" She asked, in plain ignorance to what was going on. A real drag for me as I now knew that she wasn't even paying attention to my act of chivalrous bravery or stupidity) back there. Alas, this whole mess was meaningless.

"It's nothing, babe. Just some idiot having a bout of rage road for some reason or other." I replied. But inside, the old belly was doing back flips in terror. So, when the coast was clear, I put my foot down, to which my trusty old Astra responded in it's usual lethargic manner and just as rapidly, the crazed "Mini-man" followed suit. All the while jabbing that stubby index finger in the air for me to pull over. Oh yes, this was looking pretty bad. I spied my house at the end of the road, but knew I couldn't stop. Unless I wanted to become tonight's shit spread for "Mini-man's" sandwiches tonight. I hurtled past my house, only to be continually pursued in close proximity by the Mini. "What are you doing?" Anna asked again. By this point, my focus was strictly on trying to figure out how to lose this human behemoth squashed within his miniature vehicle. "Look!" I said firmly. "This madman is going nuts behind me. I don't know what to do!" I pulled up to the end of the road and, without indicating, took a sharp right at the give-way. At least God saw fit to clear the road of any traffic lest I'd have been splattered to death by some passing truck. But lo and behold, "Mini-man" just refused to give up. And things were just about to get a whole lot worse. You see, I had this habit of pulling into gas stations and filling up the tank to just barely skimming over the "red" section. You know, the part that tells you when you're about to run out of fuel? Well, that didn't help proceedings, to say the least. I knew if this carried on, I'd only have enough juice left in my car to make it a little while longer until the car stops running altogether. Now was the time to do some fast, survival based thinking. Which is exactly what I did.

It's amazing the amount of clarity a scared teenager can conjure when faced with a life-threatening situation. But it worked a treat here. I pulled the car over to the side of the kerb and came to a pathetic halt. "Mini-man" did just the same. I recited a quick prayer to myself, Anna watching on with a confused stare, as I opened the door and got out. Just in time to watch "Mini-man" kick his car door open and prise himself out. Good, I thought, another few seconds to compose myself. Once in the open, his enraged expression and sizeable girth must have caused most of the blood to leave my face. But this was life or death. I was sure of it. And so, the conversation went something like this...

"Hey mate, is there a problem?"

"You little bastard!" He yelled, stomping up in my direction. "Why did you swear at me? I'll snap that finger off and shove it up my ass." (Yes, he actually said that.)

"No mate, You must have seen wrong." I whimpered. "I was apologising. I had my hand in the air. I didn't swear. I swear." (Wrong choice of words maybe, but said nonetheless)

The hulking beastman, almost upon me now, was not having any of it, but I could sense a modicum of "questioning" about his face. "I'm sorry, sir." I continued. "Really. I know it was my fault. But I had my hand up, not my finger. Please, I don't want any trouble. It's a misunderstanding. I'm sorry!"

Through his anger, my pitiful words must have reached some dormant, merciful element within his soul. The clenched teeth parted ways, the balled fists went limp and his contorted, neanderthalic features relaxed.

"You better not be telling me porkies, boy." ("Porkies" is an English expression for "lies".)

"I promise, sir. I'm... Sorry."

In an instant, the terrifying monster had been subdued. He even let out a kindly grimace.

"You're lucky. I was getting ready to call you an ambulance after I was done with yer. Just mind yourself from now on."

"I will, mate" I replied, with a smile. "And... thanks." *(God, what a miserable spectacle this was.)

I watched him squeezed his ample frame back into the car, start the ignition and splutter away. Hell, I even waved back. Though just as he disappeared into the distance becoming nothing more than a fuming speck, only one word seemed to involuntarily leave my lips.

"Bastard..."

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Hahaha, oh man this series is going to be frikkin' amazing I can already tell. Loving it bud. :D

I had only one bout of road rage directed towards me. I was on this two-lane road in Hawai'i and they had it cut down to one lane for roadworks.

So everyone moves over and is slowly moving forward. This one guy in a big truck comes barrelling down the empty lane and just before the cones wants to merge in, basically skipping about 20 cars at least.

I don't let him.

Well, he doesn't like that I guess even though the person directly behind me let him in. Immediately after the construction was my turn, he follows. There is a light to cross the street and my house is up the hill. Luckily there is a gate guard and you have to have a pass. I get through with my beacon pass and he has to stop and talk to the guard.

I go up the hill out of sight and turn into my drive.

So not as great a story as yours, but its all I got...

Hey my bro! I love your anecdote and can totally relate (as you might have presumed, lol)! Man, I'm glad you didn't let him get passed but now I realise that humans can be ever so unpredictable at the best of times. If it was me and knowing my luck, I'm sure I'd have been followed all the way home again, crapping myself once more!

Bless, man... :)

And all for nothing. Your girl didn’t even notice.lol I’m certain I was in a similar situation before as well. Now, you just can lough at it. You should drive around until one of you run out of gas, perhaps, he could had been first.lol

Yes. I recounted what happened from my solely perspective so, of course, my attention's were firmly focused on "Mini-man" only. However, I did discover a little later that she just looked on from the safely of her passenger side seat. :)

holy Im glad you talked yourself out of that situation with mini-man! ahhaha oh the shit we get ourselves into! Its hilarious when we look back on it all!

It's a crazy ride that I love to look back and reminiscence over. However, this is just the tip of the iceberg. Remember, everything I'm putting down is exactly how it went down. "Factual" in every sense of the word, lol. :)

oh man, reading your tales are making come back to my memory I'll have to share them in your comments as they come!

Yes, definitely you choose a right action. Sometimes a lie could be a life saver :) You didn't give permission to that men's anger runs your night. This kind of person searching place to empty their rubbish (anger &hate) in this way chain reaction of anger spread like a flue. Is it true story?

It's most definitely true. And yes, God knows why the guy lost it so bad. I mean, I can understand his annoyance, but to go full-on "road rage" like that? Maybe he was just having a bad day, lol... :)

Lesson learned! I’m sure next time you made sure you girlfriend paid an attention. At the end you wanted to be her hero, not the Mini-man guy enemy.

Lol, I know. The whole event could have been easily avoided in not for my misdirected skills at "trying to impress a member of the opposite sex", lol. Oh well, you live and learn... :)

Haha, love it. It continues to amaze me how ludicrous we can be in meaningless moments. What I mean is that as silly as it was for you as a teen to give him the finger, it was even more preposterous for him, a grown man, to chase you for miles on behalf of his wounded dignity. He didn't even have a girl to impress.

Lol, so true, mate! Hence now I can look at it from a "fly on the wall" point of view to really see how pointless the whole thing was. :)

Funny how anger can take over and escalate. Is this a real story? If so I'll pray for that individual. You may have helped this person. Going forward, this person may realize that not only can anger be consciously bottled up, but that it can be redirected and more productive. This takes time. Surely any positive instance is better than none. Glad you shared this story.

Oh, you can bet your bottom dollar is 100% real! And yes, the way I see it, I narrowly escaped a free trip to the hospital. Was pretty shook up after that though, I must admit.

"Bastard..."

At least you had the last word.

Lol! My one minor victory in that brief, but perilous affair. :)

Good story, this is very interesting.

dear @ezzy Yes, definitely you choose a right action. Sometimes a lie could be a life saver. You didn't give permission to that men's anger runs your night

you must know

"people for people,,

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66791.24
ETH 3239.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.22