Brutally Honest: 11 - Burn

in #story6 years ago (edited)

As you’ve probably gathered by now, fire played an integrally important role in my younger days. Not only used to cook my food but also to burn my friends up. However, it transpires that I was not the only one who could fall under the spell of it’s mesmerizing, irresistible allure…


Thumbs Up.jpg

So, I’m chilling with my girlfriend at the time. Soon to be my wife. We were watching some random movie on television and it was late in the night. Around 1am or the like, if I recall correctly. Anyways, everything is going by as normal, when I notice subtle movements from the corner of my eye. It’s @rea, looking around in the most peculiar fashion. But definitely sensing that something is amiss.

”Hey hun, you cool?” I asked. ”What’s the matter?”

”I can smell smoke.” she replied, looking progressively more concerned from one moment to the next. I did what any sane guy would. Looked around the room. Everything appeared normal enough. No candles of any sort as we used central heating for warmth.

”You sure?” I asked again, not picking up on the same familiar scent as her. Though she now began to panic a little.

”I’m telling you, I can smell smoke! Go check it out, will you?”

Obediently, I got up from the comfort of my couch and slotted into my "investigation persona". First, I looked out the living room door to our left. Nothing out of the ordinary there, with everything appearing as it should. I could feel my thoroughly conducted search was almost complete. Looking back at her, I shrugged.

”I don’t know. Go look out the window or something!” She barked back, more than a little frustrated at my lack of interest with this unsettling quandary.

I moseyed over to the window, wondering when the fuss would end as I was pretty certain nothing would come of this unnecessary palava. Brushing the curtain to one side, I envisaged a sight I don’t think I’ll ever forget. This might sound crazy but the road had gone. I mean like, there was nothing there but a blank void. I squinted nearer through the window, only to behold a world that had somehow vanished. Now, I also started to panic.

”Hun, what the hell is going on?” I muttered over my shoulder. ”I can’t see anything out the window.” Before she chose a suitable response to my bold and confusing statement, I peered in more closely. The shock knocked me for six. On closer inspection, it suddenly made complete horrifying sense. I leaped away and darted to the phone, the side effect being @rea bolting off of the sofa like a jack-in-the-box.

”What happened? What did you see?” She exclaimed, alarmed by… Well, my alarm. ”The street is filled with smoke! It can only one person!” I cried out. Someone was a prior history of burning things just to toss them nonchalantly out of the window. It could only be... The son, Aubrey.

”Oh my god! Orbit!” She shrieked. This was a name she had conjured up for him soon after she got to know the character that he was. I’d crack up every time she mentioned him using that ingenious colloquialism. But not tonight, not with our very lives in imminent danger.

I dialled “999” and quickly ordered up a fire engine before we both sped upstairs to get a better view of things from the top window in the bedroom. Oh yes, the situation was much clearer from up here. Smoke poured from a small ventilator in "hell house”. Or should I say, the miniature portal into evil itself! Luckily, no flames raged outside else our house, which was literally next door, would be next in line. What a absolute lunatic this guy was!

We looked on, eyes wide with terror, waiting for the moment those yellow, flickering arcs found there way out of that furnace within. I spotted the fire engine hurtling down the street in a matter of minutes. The police followed suit not too long after, cordoning off the road on either end. So much for a quiet night in! In the end, not one but three fire engines surrounded the house of sacrilege. Though still no sign of the three certifiable dwellers. Four fireman rushed up the pathway as their door opened up and they all fled out like roaches, one by one. Aubrey was acting delusional as usual, laughing like he’d just returned from a enjoyable night out at the pub. His sister was in hysterics, screaming at the top of her lungs ”This is what it’s like to live with him! Just look at what we’ve got living with us!” Pot and kettle spring to mind but at least she was never a danger to the other inhabitants on our road.

Well, the following day, I ventured out of my house to observe the damage from the safety of the roadside pavement. Around the plastic sections of the ventilator where the smoke funnelled through, was a dark black ring of soot. I assumed the fire would have burned through much more, given the awful severity I had initially anticipated. But still, the hidden "insides" were another matter altogether. Though they had seen fit to pin up some makeshift curtains (looking more like cheap bedding to be perfectly honest) so as to keep unwanted, prying eyes out. Mainly, mine!

”God!” I whispered to myself. ”When in the hell are these guys gonna leave my otherwise peaceful road alone?”

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Few months back, On the front of my door I saw a fire.. immediately I go out and wanted t o know what's the matter... I saw a group of drunk men burned their wine bottles.

Nice ..
The moments of the endrenalin .. A good story, your style is amazing
Great post well done
For more creativity

gooood

That sounded crazy indeed.

The only bad experience I have had with fire was one time I had a little lamp in my bedroom, but the light was so strong I decided to put a notebook on the top so it wouldn't disturb me.

So, I went to sleep and forgot about turning off the little lamp.

At around 5-6 in morning, I wake up, hardly being able to breathe and my room full of smoke! Luckily I didn't pass out from the smoke or I could have kill myself that way.

So I went turn off the AC, and the little lap which was slowly catching a little fire, and started to throw water at it!

Afterwards the smell was so strong I slept in another room for a few days.

Crazy experience that could have kill me...

Oh, mate! That was a close call! Well, at least it occurred in a place that you had control over the mini-blaze. I'm sure you used loads of air freshener to clear that "crispy" aroma! :)

@ezzy, I'm thinking this family needs to have their lives made into a TV show. It HAS to be better than most of the rubbish nowadays.

Oh man, it has "smash hit" written all over it! :)

Fire is such a mesmerizing but dangerous thing... last summer my country got half-burned because of forest fires, we lost more than 100 ppl just in those fires, we don't have any water because we used all of it to extinguish the fires and we aren't having any rain this winter... Our gov instead of building some desalinization facility to increase our water supply wants to build more dams, we already have to many dams and most of them are empty because we had no rain... it's not that hard to understand godamn.
I really enjoy your writing style man, very easy to follow and very expressive

Thanks very much, buddy. But yeah, that's a crazy story that happened in your country! Really sorry to hear that, man.

Good post keep going bruh

What a wild story @ezzy I'm glad you guys were ok. Thanks for sharing the story and your connection with fire :)

Stay safe with the fire element and keep up the good work!

Lol, I've always loved a bit of "flame" in my life, but this was a little too close to home. :)

First you introduced us to this wonderfully crazy family, now they almost burned their house. I can imagine Aubrey’s sister starting to pray once getting out of the house. On the other hand you were lucky it didn’t spread. It would had been totaly different story, not so funny.

I know! We panicked like crazy because, yes, it could have been much, much worse. I can only look back now and have a little giggle about it. Back then, it was as serious as you can get, my friend...

God!” I whispered to myself. ”When in the hell are these guys gonna leave my otherwise peaceful road alone?”

I really like this family in a black humor way.They are like family from the movie. I guess at that time it wasn’t fun for you, but now thinking about it you must just laugh knowing nothing really happened.

They are like a movie! Lol, that was part of the intrigue about them. This nutty family who lives next to me. Anything can happen. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64160.97
ETH 3145.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86