A Few Memorable Recollections From Steemfest 2 - Part 1steemCreated with Sketch.

in #story6 years ago (edited)

20171105_080905.jpg

(Left to right: myself, @rea, @exyle, @bkdbkd.)

Steemfest is fast becoming an integral embodiment of everything “Steem” related. Separate from the actual technology of the blockchain and currency itself, I see this unique gathering of steemians, developers and it’s founder as one that will continue to grow as time goes by.

It was an interesting comparison for me as I’d attending the last Steemfest too. In terms of scale, the last one was dwarfed by the grand set pieces @roelandp provided for his guests. A total of three different venues made up the locale of the event. I tell you one thing, there does not seem to be a “second best option” motif where @roelandp is concerned. Everybody I spoke to was yet again blown away by his extraordinary prowess and expertise when it comes to organising and hosting.


Like-Minded Steemians:

One of the main highlights of attending the fest again was catching up with many familiar faces. In no particular order, @juanmiguelsalas, @future24, @steemrollin, @velimir, @ballinconscious, @originate, @mammasitta, @shenanigator, @sharingeverybite, @misslasvegas, @brian-rhodes, @cryptofunk, @opheliafu, @starkerz and the promo-uk team (great job so far, guys), @allayummyfood, @ivargereiko, @roxane, @oroger, @terrybrock, @andrarchy, @ericvancewalton, @kevinwong, @demotruk, @shla-rafia, @jerrybanfield, @dollarvigilante, @lukestokes, @gringalicious, @noboxes, @gmuxx and the members of @gardenofeden (@ned and @roelandp are ubiquitous, of course).

If I missed out a few names, please accept my apologies.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

An Evening With a Top class Author:

So many names stand out for me for so many various reasons. Such as the awesome @michelle.gent and @s0u1. We actually took the same flight as them and when we arrived at the hotel, decided to find a local restaurant to satisfy our growing appetites. Around the corner, a quaint little establishment did the trick nicely. We talked for ages and soon caught up to speed since we had last seen one another.

It proved the perfect start to the Steemfest, which was only magnified by the kind gesture of receiving two signed copies of her latest book for us both. The sweetest couple you’d ever hope to meet. An absolute pleasure meeting you guys again.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Smooth and Suave Does it...

Another awesome steemian who I recognized pretty much immediately upon seeing was @nanzo-scoop. My wife and I were returning from a visit to the hackathon when the big man himself strode toward us. Man, I tell you. The smile on his face said it all. As I hope ours did to. Such a genuine and extremely likable guy. It was like we had seen each other just yesterday.

From there on, we hooked up on many an occasion at various locations (had an awesome laugh at the Steemfest courtesy of one of my best friends, @exyle and a memorable lunch together on our final day in Lisbon). Sometimes you can't help but wonder what the people themselves will actual be like behind the Steemit avatar we are so used to seeing. And then a few of those individual come along and exceed your expectations in every way possible. Bless you, Tony.

A true diamond of a gentleman.

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

I'm Not Doing This On Purpose... I Swear It!

It really was a crazy blur looking back. Very similar to the first Steemfest. So many people, so many stories. An absolute blast. One funny story I can recall involved @shenanigator and @sharingeverybite. So humble and soft spoken, this couple are the true definition of “sweet and endearing”. Again, was so glad to catch up with them once more. As with the last time, I wish I could have spent more time catching up but the wind whirl of people combined with presentations galore meant time was a very real enemy. But I digress.

We must have “coincidentally” bumped into each other several times. To the point where it seemed the cosmos may have been casting an intervening hand. In local bars, restaurants, on the street and in the hotel lobby. We just so happened to always find each other! Even once as we were getting out of a cab and had literally just seen them leaving a venue a short while back! Now don’t get me wrong. I love seeing them but was more concerned if they thought we were some crazed stalkers that were hell-bent on following them. Lol, so just for the record… ”Sorry guys, didn’t mean to freak you out!”.

But seriously, what lovely and friendly people they are. A real pleasure meeting you again... and again... and again, lol!

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

All Aboard!

Finally, I couldn’t forget one steemian who I literally couldn’t wait to see. My online brother and good friend @getonthetrain. In the beginning when payout’s were either a few cents or you hit the “jackpot” (seasoned steemian’s will know exactly what I’m talking about), this guy was always there to keep me on the straight and narrow when I felt like a good old fashioned “rant”. An incredible listener, always offering the right advice and at the right time. He got me through some tough moments on Steemit which I’ll always be eternally grateful for. But when I found out he was going to be at the actual event too, I tell you. The happiness I felt was through the roof! Again, I consider this guy an exceptional friend to meeting him in person was just to good to be true.

Anyways, outside the registration room and I’m standing in a bit of a daze (too little sleep, not enough caffeine, lol) when I hear someone call my name behind me. I look around and see a guy say it’s nice to meet me with an outstretched hand. I greet him but still unawares as to who it was. Oh man! You can imagine my embarrassment when the message finally filtered through to my brain. That’s one of your best buddies standing right there! Wake the hell up, damnit!

Of course, I collected myself together and greeted him with an enthusiastic hug. Luckily, I explained to him about my lack of sleep and all. He was quick to understand. In fact, the same as he had always been online. So courteous and affable. And from there, we had some awesome times together. The two most memorable being just after leaving the “Night of Steem” and being stranded in the middle of Lisbon, struggling to find a taxi (that’s a story for another time but I'm sure will cause a few giggles for all involved... except the wives and partners) and the closing dinner where I “finally” got time to have a proper chat with him and reminisce about the old days (well, meaning from last year, lol).

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

These are just a few of my personal experiences whilst attending this year’s Steemfest. It’s been a real “trippy” path I’ve led myself down after devoting my time and effort to Steemit. I guess we can all look back and say “If Steemit never existed, where would we be right now?” Maybe home with the kids, chilling with your friends. Chances are doing the same activities you normally would have done in your everyday life anyways. Who would have envisioned this amazing platform changing our scheduled order of things to this extent, right? The mind certainly boggles...

What a wild ride Steemit has been thus far! And there’s still so much fun yet to be had!

(And a little more to come soon...)

PAGE-DIVIDER.jpg

Hope you enjoyed this story, please look out for more on the way... (author: @ezzy)


Sort:  

Was great seeing you again and chillin with you at steemfest2 ^_^ Going to be making a hypnosis recording for sleeping very soon :p

Hey there, buddy! Man, was so awesome seeing you again! Btw, I checked out your presentation and you're such a natural! Extremely impressed with your professionalism and delivery. Top class through and through, man. Would be very interested to see your video on "sleep".

All the best! Until we meet again. :)

^_^ Always great connecting with you too. Really wanted to help you sleep with a qucikc hypnosis session but I was too ADHD in a party frenzy mode ( I blame it on the open bar :p).

Thank you, I appreciate it. I was actually impressed how well I did for my first presentation on stage about hypnosis; Have a lot to expand on though and would help with more time. I am excited to give another presentation here were I live using a volunteer to demonstrate what hypnosis is and how it works.

My sleep video will actually be more of a hypnosis session. So it will actually be more of an audio recording ^_^ Indeed wishing you the best too, until next time :)

Ha! Great post! I had the pleasure to meet @getonthetrain at steemfest and found him to be a really cool guy. It was lovely to meet you and @rea too.

Hey there, @misslasvegas! Glad you are keeping well! Yes, @getonthetrain was a real pleasure to finally meet. As were you. Hopefully you can make the next one and we can catch up properly. The very best wishes to you... :)

Oh, I'm definitely going to make the next one, even if I have to hitchhike ;)

Look forward to it!

It was awesome meeting you out there! Hope to see you again next year

Hey buddy! Likewise, I just wish I had talked to you some more. Your artistic talents are off the charts, bro! Please try to make the next Steemfest and let's fix this! :)

That was one of the only problems that I had with STEEMFest! So many awesome people with such little time to talk to every one of them

Defo... It was so full on. Maybe next time it should be a fortnight, lol!

Steemfest is fast becoming an integral embodiment of everything “Steem” related

I think you're right about this in every sense, positive and negative. As someone who's never going to have the chance to attend an iteration of the event, I surely have a lot of thoughts about it. But, I don't want to put a damper on this celebratory post.

I'm happy for you that you got to take part in this again, brother. You're only making your network larger with every iteration. The brand of Ezzy will almost be ubiquitous come Steemfest 3! It's a shame there wasn't a Golden Steem Awards this time around. They probably figured that you would sweep all of the fiction awards so they just decided to shut it down and spare the others from our misery haha!

Hey there, my brother!

Man, if there's one thing I could change about the event, it's having you there. Man, we would have had so much damn fun! I met the awesome @lukestokes. What a cool guy he is. Always smiling and imparting some useful words of wisdom in regards to the platform's development.

But man, I'm sorry but I can't agree with your last statement. I'm surrounded by such talented and inspirational authors (you being one of them, obviously) that I wouldn't stand a chance at another Golden Steem Awards. You guys provide the ultimate in creativity and I am now "your" fan, lol! But we're all in this process together, bro. And I 'm having an absolute blast doing it!

Bless you for your kind words, man. Please, please try to make it to the next one. :)

Sadly, I won't be able to attend any Steemfest. That is, unless I magically average $50 a post hahaha! But, I'm sure that our paths will cross somewhere else. No doubt about it! Lucky! I've worked with and for Luke, but I have yet to meet him in person haha!

I'm an afterthought in the fiction space here on Steemit. There's no room in the table for old minnows like me haha! That's alright, I'm trying to get by on scraps. This isn't the place for my brand of fiction it seems. Don't worry though, I'm sure I'll make it big somewhere else. One day I'm going to join you in breathing the rarefied air that you've been breathing ever since you ascended to the elite, my bro!

Hey there, @ezzy! Man, I didn't know you went to the Steemfest until recently. Looks like you had a great time there. There were so many people with so many different talents and skills. Next time, I will try to make it myself. Till then, keep writing and doing what you do best.

God bless.

@myb! hope you're doing great , buddy! Yeah, it was a blast out there. You should make it next time for sure. I spoke to many people who I had previously met online here on Steemit or from the last Steemfest. It was beyond words, man.

I'll be looking out for you at Steemfest 3, my bro! :)

@ezzy I like what you shared in this posting. I hope to go to STEEMFEST 3.
@exyle and @getonthetrain are also some of my favorites and the train even lives in my state of Arizona........STEEM On.

That's awesome. You seem to pick the finest when it comes to bloggers. Those guys are way ahead of the game. Incredible people that I can vouch for 100%. And yes, I urge you to try to make the next one. It's an absolute blast and an experience you won't soon forget. How lucky you live so near to @getonthetrain too!

Thanks for stopping by, man. Steem on!

So many posts from the person's been at sf2 seems pretty great and lovely.All of them enjoyed to the fullest and ,yes it definitely feels good to get updates from you people it helps us to get motivated and helps us to go on.
Keep going and we will be there someday ;)

Hey there, @rehan12!

Yes, it's been a blast reading other people's interpretations and experiences. I'm sure those new to this surreal event will never look at Steemit the same again, lol. Hopefully you can make it to the next one.

Fingers crossed, buddy. :)

;)

I do hope so too !

Still reccointing the memories of people at steemfest right and they will continue until. Steemfest 3; led by @ned

You got that right, bud. Here's to Steemfest 3. :)

it seems like you really had so much fun during the steemfest! aww i'm starting to get jealous. hope i can hop in next time ☺️

Lol, no probs! The next one is confirmed and is on the way. Hope to see you there too. :)

actually it seems to me...steem is a unique content...
thank's for sharing with us like this story...
@best of luck you guys...
@followed and upvoted

Thanks, buddy. Steemit takes everyone on their own unique journey. Hopefully yours will be as good as mine.

Steem on!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61