Further Adventures In No Man's Sky

in #story7 years ago

FURTHER ADVENTURES IN NO MAN'S SKY

My spacecraft took me into the orbital space of a planet where plant life had evidently been enormously successful. So prevalent was its growth that it covered the globe and could be seen even from as far off a vantage point of mine. Continent-sized patches of vegetation could be glimpsed below the banks of clouds.

image.jpeg

My spacecraft descended through the atmosphere and as the ground rose up to meet me I was able to take in more details of this unexplored world. It was a rocky terrain, littered with craters, perhaps from some long-distant meteor strike. Patches of green clung to blue rocks, presumably some kind of algae. Tall trees covered the lowlands.

image.jpeg

After touching down on the planet's surface and climbing out of the cockpit, I discovered that the bluish hue did not come from the rocks alone, but also from grasslike blades which carpeted the land. Wandering through this grass in an almost serene manner were a couple of creatures. Cautiously, I advanced to get a closer look at them.

image.jpeg

The animal had a vaguely dog-like quality about it, only it was not furry but rather brown-skinned that was broken up by patches of green scales. Hard-looking purple plates appeared to be sprouting from its back, as if it were in the process of growing its very own armour plating. The animal did not seem at all bothered by my presence, and concentrated instead on snipping off succulent young leaves with delicate movements of its jaws, and eating them.

image.jpeg

Leaving the peaceful animals to their grazing, I surveyed my surroundings in order to plot a journey across this land. I could see that a long canyon had been carved into the hillside, and decided that this interesting geological feature was a good a landmark as any to head for.

image.jpeg

I made my way toward the canyon, sometimes walking over rock, sometimes along softer ground carpeted by the blue grass. Every now and then larger plants obliged me to push past their weak defence of waxy leaves. It was while making my way through a cluster of such plants that I encountered a large and impressive-looking animal. It was slightly larger than a rhino, its back covered in brown armour studded with bony spines. The head of this animal looked remarkably like an anvil. Did this creature acquire such formidable headgear through engaging in contests to secure mating rights?

image.jpeg

After further walking I made it to the canyon. Its walls were steep but the sun had climbed high enough by this time to bathe the canyon floor in light. A small group of trees grew down there. Carved into the canyon walls were cave networks, the rocks around them a darker colour, no doubt caused by the water which would have eroded away the stone to create these natural tunnels.

image.jpeg

I climbed down to the canyon floor and followed its natural path toward the exit. It brought me to a large plain. It was soon made clear, however, that I was not alone. A large, powerful animal was walking purposefully through the blue grass. Its ears twitched as if attending to every sound, and its nose constantly sniffed at the air. It was unmistakably a predator, and so powerfully built that I would be no match for it should it come for me.

image.jpeg

I decided it was a good time to leave, so I called for my spacecraft and departed.

The adventure continues.

Thanks to Hello Games for the images.

Sort:  

What is this? lol

what is the goal of that game?

There really isn't one. There is something of an objective, which is to get to the centre of the galaxy. But upon achieving that objective you just get transported to a new galaxy. This goes on into infinity. NMS procedurally generates a whole universe and you pretty much have to make up your own reason to play. Me, I make up stories based on what I find and post them to Steemit.

Dinosaurs made of vaporwave.

is it in the game? but the plot is really nice. the grapic are awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95